Vehicles › 2023–2026 Honda CR-V › Trailer Hitches

Best Hitches for 2023–2026 Honda CR-V: 5 Picks for Gas and Hybrid vs Honda's OEM Hitch

Five 2 in hitches for the sixth-generation CR-V against Honda's own $412 accessory hitch, with the 1,500 lb gas and 1,000 lb hybrid limits, hybrid fit, fascia trimming and the hands-free liftgate problem most lists skip.

We earn a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases, at no extra cost to you. Prices in the text are list prices on the review date; a live Amazon price carries its own time stamp. How we make money.
Short answer: Buy the CURT 13397 for a gas or hybrid CR-V; pay a little more for the Draw-Tite if you use the hands-free liftgate, and skip Honda's $412 hitch unless the dealer installs it. Full verdict ↓
Our top picks
1
CURT 13397 Class 3 Trailer Hitch 2 in
Best overall — CURT 13397: 2 in, 3,500 lb / 525 lb, fits gas and hybrid, about $170–$230
$170–$230
Amazon ›
2
CURT Class 3 Trailer Hitch with 4-Way Flat Custom Wiring Harness
Best complete kit — The same CURT hitch with a 4-way custom wiring harness in one box
$220–$300
Amazon ›
3
Draw-Tite 76342 Class 3 Trailer Hitch 2 in
Best for the hands-free liftgate — Draw-Tite 2017–2026 CR-V hitch; etrailer says Draw-Tite keeps the kick sensor working
$200–$270
Amazon ›
4
AutoBeeDen Class 3 Trailer Hitch 2 in
Best budget — Class 3, 2 in receiver, listed for 2017–2025 CR-V
Amazon price $109.99 (as of 11/08/2026 18:01 UTC · Details)
Amazon ›
5
Class 3 Trailer Hitch 2 in (13397-style)
Budget CURT-style alternative — 13397-style Class 3 for 2017–2026 at a lower price
$130–$190
Amazon ›
2023–2026 Honda CR-V — trailer hitches guide
Photo: MercurySable99 · CC BY-SA 4.0 · via Wikimedia Commons

Fit-checked means: matched to the maker's fit guide and part number, then checked against owner reports; not installed by us (how we chose). Covers the 2023, 2024, 2025 and 2026 Honda CR-V (6th Gen); some listings name fewer model years, so check the fit note on each pick.

CR-V hitch and towing figures

Factory receiverNone confirmed: Honda accessory hitch 08L92-3A0-100 is dealer-installed
Receiver size and classHonda accessory: Class I, size not stated (Honda parts dealer); aftermarket Class 3, 2 in
Max tow (lb)1,500 gas LX, EX, EX-L; 1,000 hybrid Sport, TrailSport, Sport-L, Sport Touring (Honda 2023 and 2026 specifications)
Tongue weight (lb)Not published on pages read
SourceHonda specifications (maker) for the rating; accessory details from a Honda parts dealer (dealer)
Key takeaways
  1. Honda's limits rule: 1,500 lb for the gas CR-V and 1,000 lb for the hybrid. A 3,500 lb hitch doesn't raise them.
  2. The CURT 13397 fits gas and hybrid 2017–2026 CR-Vs, per CURT and an etrailer expert, for about $170–$230.
  3. Honda's own hitch lists at $412, is Class I, and needs a separate harness, ball and, on the hands-free tailgate trim (Sport Touring in Honda's 2023 and 2026 tables), a sensor adapter.
  4. Expect to trim the lower fascia and lower the exhaust on aftermarket hitches. The bumper itself isn't cut.
  5. Check the hands-free liftgate. CURT's listing warns it may be affected; etrailer says the Draw-Tite keeps it working.

2023–2026 CR-V trims and what limits the hitch

the car's rating, not the hitch's
Powertrain / trimsHonda tow ratingHitches that list itNotes
Gas: LX, EX, EX-L1,500 lbCURT 13397 and kit, Draw-Tite 76342, AutoBeeDen, 13397-styleDraw-Tite 76128 lists gas only.
Hybrid: Sport, TrailSport (new for 2026), Sport-L, Sport Touring1,000 lbCURT 13397 (etrailer: fits all CR-Vs), Draw-Tite Max-Frame (2025 Hybrid Sport)Avoid listings that say 'Except Hybrid'.
AWD (gas or hybrid)Same as powertrainSame hitchesetrailer suggests CURT 56370 harness for AWD.
Hands-free power tailgate (Sport Touring only in Honda's 2023 and 2026 tables)No changeDraw-Tite (per etrailer); Honda hitch with adapterCURT listing: may affect the kick sensor.
2026 refreshNo changeCURT and etrailer hitches carry overetrailer: 2026 changes are cosmetic in the hitch area.

What to look for in CR-V trailer hitches

Gas or hybrid — the rating changes

The sixth-generation CR-V is sold with two powertrains, and they tow differently. Honda lists 1,500 lb for the gas LX, EX and EX-L and 1,000 lb for the hybrid Sport, TrailSport, Sport-L and Sport Touring. The TrailSport Hybrid is new for 2026 and has standard all-wheel drive, per Honda. That's the ceiling for a small utility trailer, a jet ski or a teardrop camper. Hitch listings sometimes split the same way: Amazon's Draw-Tite 76128 listing says 'Except Hybrid'. The CURT 13397 and Draw-Tite Max-Frame are confirmed on hybrids by etrailer, so start there if yours is a hybrid.

Honda accessory hitch or aftermarket

Honda's Trailer Hitch 08L92-3A0-100 is listed for 2023–2026 CR-Vs at $412 MSRP, and one Honda parts dealer sells it for $350.20. The dealer page describes it as a Class I hitch rated for trailers up to 1,500 lb, with a draw bar, pin and clip included. It states no receiver size and no tongue weight, and Honda's 1,000 lb rating still applies on a hybrid. The harness (08L91-3A0-100), a 1-7/8 or 2 in ball, and, on hands-free tailgate cars, a sensor adapter are extra. A CURT 13397 is about $170–$230 with a 2 in receiver. The Honda part mainly makes sense if the dealer installs it with the car.

Fascia trimming and exhaust

Every aftermarket CR-V hitch here needs some work at the rear. CURT says its 13397 needs fascia trimming and the exhaust lowered temporarily, and etrailer rates the install 6 out of 10. An etrailer expert says the Draw-Tite on a 2025 CR-V Hybrid needs the lower fascia trimmed, but the bumper itself isn't cut. Hidden designs like the EcoHitch Stealth avoid a visible receiver, but etrailer lists it at $523.13 and rates the install 10 out of 10.

The hands-free liftgate

Honda's 2023 and 2026 specification tables list the power tailgate with hands-free access on the Sport Touring only. CR-Vs with it have a kick sensor under the rear bumper, and a hitch sits right next to it. The Amazon title for CURT 13397 says it may affect the hands-free liftgate. A Honda parts dealer lists a sensor adapter for Honda's own hitch. An etrailer expert says the Draw-Tite for the 2025 CR-V keeps the feature working. If you use the kick sensor every day, that's the reason to pay a little more for the Draw-Tite.

Wiring and ball mount

The hitch is only half the purchase. For a trailer you need a 4-way flat harness and a ball mount. Honda sells harness 08L91-3A0-100. For a 2023 CR-V Hybrid, an etrailer expert recommends CURT's 56370 harness on AWD models and a CURT 45534 ball-mount kit. CURT also sells the 13397 as a kit with a 4-way custom harness. For a bike rack alone, you need neither, only a hitch pin and perhaps an anti-rattle device.

FeatureLook forAvoid
FitmentListing names 2023+ CR-V and your powertrain"Except Hybrid" on a hybrid, or a range that stops at 2022
Receiver2 in for bike racks and carriers1-1/4 in if you want the widest rack choice
RatingAny Class 3; Honda's 1,500 / 1,000 lb is the limitPaying extra for a higher GTW you can't use
InstallClear notes on fascia trim and exhaust loweringNo instructions or hardware list
LiftgateStated compatibility with the hands-free sensorListings that ignore it on a kick-sensor car
Wiring4-way harness for your drivetrain (FWD vs AWD)Generic splice kits

Hitch options on the 2023–2026 CR-V

TypePrice on this pageReceiverHitch ratingWiringBest for
Honda accessory 08L92-3A0-100$412 MSRP ($350.20 dealer)Class I; size not stated by the dealerTrailers up to 1,500 lb (dealer); Honda rates hybrids at 1,000 lbSeparate 08L91-3A0-100Dealer-installed with the car
CURT 13397 / etrailer e98848About $170–$230 (CURT 13397)2 in3,500 lb / 525 lbAdd a harnessBest value
CURT 13397 kit with harnessAbout $220–$3002 in3,500 lb / 525 lb4-way includedOne-box towing setup
Draw-Tite Max-FrameAbout $200–$2702 inConfirm on listingAdd a harnessHands-free liftgate cars
Hidden (EcoHitch Stealth)$523.13 (etrailer)2 inCar rating rulesAdd a harnessNo visible receiver
Budget Class 3About $120–$1902 inVariesAdd a harnessBike racks on a budget

#1: CURT 13397 Class 3 Trailer Hitch 2 in — Best overall

CURT

CURT 13397 Class 3 Trailer Hitch 2 in, 2017-2026 Honda CR-V, 3,500 lb GTW, 525 lb TW

Listed for this truckFits gas and hybrid; may affect hands-free liftgate.
Pros
  • Class 3, 2 in receiver, 3,500 lb GTW and 525 lb tongue weight
  • Fits gas and hybrid 2017–2026 CR-Vs (CURT; etrailer expert)
  • Concealed main body, open-back receiver
  • 29 lb, gloss black powder coat over rust-resistant A-coat
  • etrailer listed it at $169.54 with 1,377 reviews on October 4, 2026
Cons
  • Fascia trimming and temporary exhaust lowering
  • Listing warns it may affect the hands-free liftgate
  • Not for vertical-hanging bike racks

CURT's 13397 is the hitch most CR-V owners should start with. It's a Class 3 hitch with a 2 in receiver, rated 3,500 lb gross trailer weight and 525 lb tongue weight, weighing 29 lb. The main body is concealed behind the fascia, the receiver has an open back that doesn't trap dirt, and the finish is gloss black powder coat over CURT's rust-resistant A-coat. CURT lists it for 2017–2026 CR-Vs with a limited lifetime warranty. etrailer listed it at $169.54 (retail $271.95) on October 4, 2026, and one of its product experts told a 2023 CR-V Hybrid owner that it fits every CR-V, including the hybrid.

The install is manageable but not bolt-and-go. CURT says the fascia must be trimmed and the exhaust lowered temporarily. etrailer rates it 6 out of 10. The Amazon title adds that it may affect the hands-free liftgate. CURT also says it's not for vertical-hanging bike racks. The 3,500 lb rating is more than double what any CR-V may tow, so Honda's 1,500 lb (gas) or 1,000 lb (hybrid) is your real limit. etrailer also sells its own e98848 hitch, which it says CURT makes, in matte black at a similar price.

Who it's for: Gas and hybrid CR-V owners who want a proven 2 in hitch for a bike rack or small trailer at the lowest brand-name price.

CURT specifications
SpecValue
Class / receiverClass 3, 2 in
Part #CURT 13397
Fits2017–2026 CR-V, gas and hybrid
Hitch rating3,500 lb GTW / 525 lb TW
Car's limit1,500 lb gas / 1,000 lb hybrid
Hitch weight29 lb
InstallFascia trim, exhaust lowered; etrailer 6/10
WarrantyLimited lifetime (1-yr finish, 1-yr parts)

#2: CURT Class 3 Trailer Hitch with 4-Way Flat Custom Wiring Harness — Best complete kit

CURT

CURT Class 3 Trailer Hitch with 4-Way Flat Custom Wiring Harness, 2 in, 2017-2026 CR-V

Confirm fit on listingConfirm harness matches FWD/AWD.
Pros
  • CURT Class 3 hitch plus 4-way flat custom wiring harness
  • Listing names 2017–2026 CR-V
  • Harness connects tail lights, brake and turn signals
  • Hardware included
  • One order instead of three
Cons
  • Confirm the harness matches FWD or AWD
  • Same fascia and exhaust work as the hitch alone
  • Same hands-free liftgate caveat

If you're buying a hitch to tow, you'll need a harness anyway, and this CURT kit bundles the two. The listing names the 2017–2026 CR-V, a 2 in receiver and a 4-way flat custom harness that connects tail lights, brake lights and turn signals, with the hardware included. The hitch is the same 2 in Class 3 design CURT rates at 3,500 lb and 525 lb, so the ratings and install notes above apply: fascia trimming and a temporary exhaust drop.

The detail to check is the harness. In an answer for a 2023 CR-V Hybrid, an etrailer expert recommends CURT's 56370 harness for all-wheel-drive models, which suggests FWD and AWD cars may take different parts. Confirm on the listing, or with the seller, that the kit's harness matches your drivetrain. You'll still need a ball mount; etrailer's expert suggests CURT's 45534 kit. Honda's own route is the 08L91-3A0-100 harness with its hitch.

Who it's for: Owners who plan to tow a small trailer and want the hitch and lights in one order.

CURT specifications
SpecValue
Class / receiverClass 3, 2 in
Fits2017–2026 CR-V (per listing)
Hitch rating3,500 lb GTW / 525 lb TW (CURT 13397)
Wiring4-way flat custom harness
Car's limit1,500 lb gas / 1,000 lb hybrid
Ball mountNot included
InstallFascia trim, exhaust lowered

#3: Draw-Tite 76342 Class 3 Trailer Hitch 2 in — Best for the hands-free liftgate

Draw-Tite

Draw-Tite 76342 Class 3 Trailer Hitch 2 in, 2017-2026 CR-V

Confirm fit on listingKeeps hands-free liftgate (etrailer); confirm ratings on listing.
Pros
  • Class 3, 2 in square receiver
  • Listing names 2017–2026 CR-V
  • etrailer expert: Draw-Tite keeps the hands-free liftgate working on a 2025 CR-V
  • Confirmed on the 2025 CR-V Hybrid Sport (etrailer)
  • Only the lower fascia is trimmed; the bumper isn't cut
Cons
  • Ratings weren't on the etrailer pages we could open; confirm on the listing
  • Costs a little more than CURT
  • No harness

Draw-Tite's CR-V hitch is the pick for owners who use the kick sensor under the bumper to open the liftgate. The Amazon listing for part 76342 names the 2017–2026 CR-V and a 2 in square receiver. In an etrailer Q&A about a 2025 CR-V Hybrid Sport, the expert says the Draw-Tite hitch keeps the hands-free liftgate working, which sets it apart from some competing hitches, and that only the lower fascia under the bumper is trimmed while the bumper itself isn't cut or modified.

Confirm two things on the listing. First, that the part is the one etrailer describes (etrailer lists it under its own code, DT79MR). Second, its GTW and tongue-weight figures, which weren't shown on the etrailer pages we could read. On a CR-V that's less critical than it sounds: any Class 3 hitch is well above Honda's 1,500 lb and 1,000 lb limits. Avoid the older Draw-Tite 76128 on a hybrid: its Amazon listing says 'Except Hybrid'.

Who it's for: Owners with the hands-free liftgate (Sport Touring in Honda's tables) who want to keep the kick sensor working.

Draw-Tite specifications
SpecValue
Class / receiverClass 3, 2 in square
Part #Draw-Tite 76342 (Max-Frame)
Fits2017–2026 CR-V (per listing); 2025 Hybrid Sport (etrailer)
Hands-free liftgateKeeps working (etrailer expert, 2025)
TrimmingLower fascia only
RatingsConfirm on listing; car limit 1,500 / 1,000 lb
WiringNot included

#4: AutoBeeDen Class 3 Trailer Hitch 2 in — Best budget

AutoBeeDen Class 3 Trailer Hitch 2 in, 2017-2025 CR-V
AutoBeeDen

AutoBeeDen Class 3 Trailer Hitch 2 in, 2017-2025 CR-V

Confirm fit on listingBudget; confirm hybrid fit with seller.
Pros
  • Class 3 with 2 in receiver
  • Listing names every year from 2017 to 2025
  • Bright black finish
  • Cheaper than the CURT
  • Plenty for a bike rack within Honda's limits
Cons
  • Listing stops at 2025; confirm 2026
  • Confirm hybrid fit with the seller
  • Thinner specs and support than CURT

AutoBeeDen's hitch is the lowest-cost 2 in receiver here that names the current CR-V. The listing spells out every model year from 2017 to 2025 and describes a Class 3 hitch with a 2 in receiver and a bright black finish. For a bike rack or a hitch cargo tray, a Class 3 receiver is more than a CR-V needs, since Honda caps towing at 1,500 lb for gas cars and 1,000 lb for hybrids.

The listing doesn't say whether it fits the hybrid, and it stops at 2025, so confirm both with the seller if you have a hybrid (Sport, TrailSport, Sport-L or Sport Touring), or a 2026. Expect the same fascia trimming and exhaust lowering as the CURT, and ask for the instruction sheet before you buy. The savings over CURT are modest, about $50 on this page's price bands, so the CURT is the better buy unless price is the only thing that matters.

Who it's for: Gas CR-V owners who want the cheapest 2 in receiver for a bike rack.

AutoBeeDen specifications
SpecValue
Class / receiverClass 3, 2 in
Fits2017–2025 CR-V (per listing)
FinishBright black
HybridConfirm with seller
Car's limit1,500 lb gas / 1,000 lb hybrid
WiringNot included

#5: Class 3 Trailer Hitch 2 in (13397-style) — Budget CURT-style alternative

Generic

Class 3 Trailer Hitch 2 in (13397-style), 2017-2026 CR-V

Confirm fit on listingBudget; confirm hybrid fit and ratings.
Pros
  • Built to the 13397 pattern, so it uses the same mounting approach
  • Listing names 2017–2026 CR-V
  • 2 in receiver
  • Lower price than the CURT
  • Covers 2026, unlike the AutoBeeDen
Cons
  • Not a CURT part; warranty and coating details are thinner
  • Confirm hybrid fit and ratings
  • No harness

This is a budget Class 3 hitch sold as a 13397-style design, meaning it copies the CURT part's fit to the CR-V. The listing names the 2017–2026 CR-V and a 2 in receiver, so it covers the 2026 refresh that the AutoBeeDen listing stops short of. etrailer says the 2026 CR-V's changes around the hitch area are cosmetic, so hitches that fit the 2025 carry over.

What you give up is the maker's backing: CURT publishes its ratings, coating process and warranty, and this listing gives less. Ask the seller for the tongue-weight rating, hardware list and hybrid fit before you buy. With Honda's limits at 1,500 lb and 1,000 lb, the hitch rating won't hold you back, but a solid coating and good hardware matter on a part that lives behind the rear wheels in road salt.

Who it's for: Owners who want a CR-V-specific 2 in receiver for less than a CURT and accept thinner specs.

Generic specifications
SpecValue
Class / receiverClass 3, 2 in
Design13397-style
Fits2017–2026 CR-V (per listing)
RatingsConfirm on listing
Car's limit1,500 lb gas / 1,000 lb hybrid
WiringNot included

Also fit-checked for the 2023–2026 Honda CR-V

How to install a trailer hitch on the CR-V

  1. Confirm your powertrain and whether the car has the hands-free power tailgate. Both change which hitch and adapter you need.
  2. Lower the rear of the exhaust as the maker's sheet describes. CURT lists a temporary exhaust drop for the 13397.
  3. Trim the lower fascia along the template in the instructions. The bumper cover above it isn't cut.
  4. Raise the hitch into place, fit the bolts to the frame mounting points and torque to the maker's figures.
  5. Refit the exhaust hangers and check clearance between the hitch and the tailpipe.
  6. Fit the harness (Honda 08L91-3A0-100 or a CURT harness for your drivetrain), test all lights, and check the hands-free liftgate still opens.

What to avoid

Towing to the hitch rating. A 3,500 lb or 4,500 lb hitch doesn't raise Honda's 1,500 lb gas or 1,000 lb hybrid limit.

'Except Hybrid' listings on a hybrid. Amazon's Draw-Tite 76128 listing excludes the hybrid. Buy a part that names it, like the CURT 13397.

Ignoring the kick sensor. A hitch can stop the hands-free liftgate from working. Check before buying if you rely on it.

Forgetting wiring and a ball mount. A trailer needs a 4-way harness and a ball mount. Add both to the budget up front.

See everything that fits your CR-V

Bed, roof, hitch and interior, filtered to the 2023–2026 Honda CR-V.

Open the CR-V fit hub → See the CR-V upgrade plan →

Frequently asked questions

What is the best trailer hitch for a 2023+ Honda CR-V?

For most owners, the CURT 13397. It's a Class 3 hitch with a 2 in receiver, rated 3,500 lb gross trailer weight and 525 lb tongue weight, and CURT lists it for the 2017–2026 CR-V. It runs about $170–$230 on this page (etrailer listed it at $169.54 on October 4, 2026), and an etrailer expert says it fits every CR-V, hybrids included. It costs well under Honda's $412 accessory hitch and takes the far wider choice of 2 in bike racks and carriers.

How much can a 2023+ CR-V tow?

Honda's 2026 specifications list 1,500 lb for the gas CR-V (LX, EX, EX-L) and 1,000 lb for the CR-V Hybrid (Sport, TrailSport, Sport-L, Sport Touring). The TrailSport Hybrid is new for 2026. Those are the limits whatever hitch you fit. A 3,500 lb Class 3 hitch doesn't raise them. It just means the hitch isn't the weak link.

Does the CURT or Draw-Tite hitch fit the CR-V Hybrid?

Yes, for the parts covered here. An etrailer expert answering a 2023 CR-V Hybrid owner says the CURT 13397 fits all models of the CR-V, including the hybrid. Another etrailer answer confirms Draw-Tite's Max-Frame hitch fits the 2025 CR-V Hybrid Sport. Watch for older part numbers: Amazon's listing for Draw-Tite 76128 says 2017–2025 CR-V 'Except Hybrid'. Buy a part that includes the hybrid.

Is Honda's accessory hitch worth it?

Only if you want a dealer-installed Honda part. The Honda Trailer Hitch 08L92-3A0-100 lists at $412 MSRP ($350.20 at one Honda parts dealer), and that dealer describes it as a Class I hitch for trailers up to 1,500 lb, with no receiver size or tongue weight stated. Honda rates the hybrid trims at 1,000 lb, so that lower figure applies on a hybrid. You still buy the wiring harness (08L91-3A0-100) and a hitch ball separately, and a car with the hands-free power tailgate (the Sport Touring in Honda's 2023 and 2026 tables) needs a sensor adapter. CURT's 13397 runs about $170–$230 with a 2 in receiver.

Will a hitch stop my CR-V's hands-free liftgate from working?

It can. The Amazon title for CURT 13397 warns it may affect the hands-free liftgate. Honda's 2023 and 2026 specification tables list the power tailgate with hands-free access on the Sport Touring only, and a Honda parts dealer lists a hands-free access power tailgate sensor adapter for Honda's own hitch. An etrailer expert says the Draw-Tite hitch for the 2025 CR-V keeps the hands-free liftgate working. If you use the kick sensor daily, ask the seller before you buy.

Do I have to cut the bumper to install a CR-V hitch?

You trim the lower fascia, not the bumper. CURT says its CR-V hitch needs fascia trimming and a temporary lowering of the exhaust. An etrailer expert says the Draw-Tite on a 2025 CR-V Hybrid needs the lower fascia under the bumper trimmed, but the bumper itself is not cut or modified. etrailer rates the CURT install 6 out of 10.

Do 2017–2022 CR-V hitches fit the 2023+ CR-V?

Some do. CURT lists the 13397 for 2017–2026, and the Draw-Tite 76342 and CURT kit listings also say 2017–2026. That doesn't hold for everything else: floor mats and roof racks from the previous generation don't carry over, and some hitch listings stop at 2022 or exclude the hybrid. Check that your model year and powertrain are named. Honda's site now shows a 2027 CR-V, and CURT's page now lists the 13397 through 2027. We did not check 2027 fit for the other hitches here, so confirm 2027 on the listing.

Is a 2 in or 1-1/4 in receiver better on a CR-V?

Two inch for most owners. Every aftermarket hitch here is 2 in, and that's the size most bike racks and cargo carriers use. Honda's accessory hitch is Class I per a Honda parts dealer, whose page states no receiver size. Class I receivers are normally 1-1/4 in, so confirm the size with your dealer if you're comparing. Honda's 1,500 lb gas and 1,000 lb hybrid limits mean you don't need a bigger hitch for towing; the 2 in receiver is about rack choice.

What wiring do I need to tow with a CR-V?

A 4-way flat covers tail, brake and turn lights on the small trailers a CR-V can pull. Honda sells harness 08L91-3A0-100 for its hitch. An etrailer expert recommends CURT's 56370 harness for all-wheel-drive CR-Vs in a 2023 hybrid answer. CURT also sells the 13397 as a kit with a 4-way custom harness; confirm the harness in that kit matches your drivetrain.

Which hitch has the highest rating for a CR-V?

etrailer lists a B&W CR-V hitch at 4,500 lb and 675 lb tongue weight, against CURT's 3,500 lb and 525 lb. On a CR-V it doesn't matter: Honda caps gas cars at 1,500 lb and hybrids at 1,000 lb. Pick on fit, install and price instead.

FINAL VERDICT

Buy the CURT 13397 for a gas or hybrid CR-V; pay a little more for the Draw-Tite if you use the hands-free liftgate, and skip Honda's $412 hitch unless the dealer installs it.

On a CR-V, the hitch's rating hardly matters, because Honda caps towing at 1,500 lb for gas cars and 1,000 lb for hybrids. What matters is fit for your powertrain, the install, and the hands-free liftgate. The CURT 13397 fits every sixth-gen CR-V, hybrids included, for about $170–$230. The CURT kit adds the harness in one box. The Draw-Tite is the one to choose if you use the kick sensor. Honda's accessory hitch lists at $412, and you still buy its harness and ball separately.

A 2 in receiver opens up hitch bike racks and cargo trays, which can pair with a rooftop cargo box for trips. All-weather floor mats sized for the sixth-gen floor are the other common first purchase. The vehicle hub lists every fit-checked accessory for your CR-V.

Next step for your CR-V
Best Roof Racks & Crossbars for 2023–2026 Honda CR-V: 6 Picks for Bare Roofs and Hybrid Rails →

How we chose

We did not install these hitches ourselves. We ranked them on published ratings (class, receiver, gross trailer weight, tongue weight), on the CR-V years and powertrains each maker or listing names, and on install notes from CURT and etrailer's product experts. Tow limits, hybrid trims and the hands-free tailgate trim come from Honda's 2023 and 2026 specification tables and its CR-V spec page; the accessory hitch details come from a Honda parts dealer. Prices were checked at etrailer and the dealer in September 2026, and etrailer's CURT 13397 price again on October 4, 2026. Amazon prices move daily, so the button shows the live price.

Sources
JM
Jake Morrison · Fitment editor

Jake Morrison edits Rig Configurator's buying guides and keeps its fitment database current. Every product is matched to a vehicle generation, bed length or roof type using the maker's fit guide and part-number listing, then checked against owner reports, before it appears on a page. His own daily driver is a 2019 Toyota Premio.

10 years in Amazon product researchMaintains the Rig Configurator fitment databaseSources cited on every guide

Related guides

All trailer hitches guides by vehicle → · Everything that fits the 2023–2026 Honda CR-V →