Learn › Factory Tow Hitch by Vehicle

Factory Tow Hitch by Vehicle: Which Trucks and SUVs Ship With a Receiver, by Trim

A trailer hitch is the one upgrade many trucks and SUVs already have. This chart lists, for every vehicle generation the site covers, whether a receiver comes from the factory, on which trims or packages, its class and size, the maximum tow rating and the tongue weight where the maker prints one. Every row names its source and says when a figure is not confirmed.

Key takeaways
  1. Standard on every trim is rare. Only the 2010–2024 4Runner (Toyota) and the 2024 F-150 (Ford guide) are confirmed with a receiver on all versions.
  2. Most receivers arrive with a package, not a trim. Ranger, Maverick, Explorer, Wrangler, Grand Cherokee, Colorado, Tacoma and the Teslas all tie the receiver to an option.
  3. A receiver never raises the rating. The vehicle figure in the manual is the ceiling, and a 3,500 lb factory receiver caps a Jeep rated 5,000 lb.
  4. Tongue weight is the number most makers skip. Ford, Toyota, Tesla and Subaru print one for some models; most rows say not published.
  5. Six rows are not confirmed by trim. Silverado, Sierra, Ram 1500, Tundra, Tahoe and Sequoia: look under the bumper and read the window sticker.

Side-by-side

Factory tow hitch receiver by vehicle generation (site vehicle data, site guides and the maker or retailer pages named in each row; checked October 8, 2026)
VehicleGenerationFactory receiver?Receiver size and classMax tow (lb)Tongue weight (lb)Source / confidenceGuide on this site
Ford F-1502021–2026Standard: Ford's 2024 guide lists a 2 in receiver rated 11,600 lb as standard; Tow/Haul Package (53T) adds a reinforced 14,000 lb receiver. 2021–2023 trucks: look under the bumper, standard status not confirmed for those years2 in; site data Class IV, Ford's 2024 guide prints no class (Wikipedia: Class IV standard on 2024 and later)14,000 (site data, 3.5L EcoBoost max tow); Lightning 10,000 with weight distribution (Ford 2024 guide)500 weight-carrying; 1,350 with weight distribution (Ford 2024 guide)Ford 2024 F-150 Towing Guide (maker); 2021–2023 trim status not confirmed2021–2026 F-150 upgrades
Ford F-1502015–2020Package: Ford's 2020 towing guide lists the receiver as included with the trailer tow packages (53A, 53B, 53C); a truck ordered without one may have no receiver2 in; site data Class IV, class not on the Ford page13,200 (site data; Motor Authority, 2018 3.5L EcoBoost); 5,000 bumper-only limit (Ford 2020 guide)Not published on pages readFord 2020 RV and Trailer Towing Guide (maker, via the site's F-150 hub)2015–2020 F-150 upgrades
Chevrolet Silverado 15002019–2026Not confirmed by trim: the site could not confirm from Chevrolet which trims and years ship with the receiver2 in, Class IV (site data; not confirmed from Chevrolet)13,300 when properly equipped (Chevrolet Silverado page)Not published on pages readChevrolet page for the rating (maker); receiver trim list not confirmed; site note: look under the bumper and read the window sticker2019–2026 Silverado 1500 upgrades
GMC Sierra 15002019–2026Not confirmed by trim: the site could not confirm from GMC which trims and years ship with the receiver2 in, Class IV (site data; not confirmed from GMC)13,200 (site data); GMC's 2026 page quotes 13,300 for one diesel Double Cab 2WD standard-bed build with the Max Trailering PackageNot published on pages readGMC 2026 Sierra page for the rating (maker); receiver trim list not confirmed; site data and GMC page differ by 100 lb2019–2026 Sierra 1500 upgrades
Ram 15002019–2026Not confirmed by trim: the site could not confirm from Ram which trims and years ship with the receiver2 in, Class IV (site data; not confirmed from Ram)12,750 (site data and Wikipedia); Ram's 2026 capability page tops out at 11,610 with the 3.0L Hurricane, 11,320 5.7L HEMI, 8,130 3.6L V6Not published on pages readRam 2026 capability page (maker) and Wikipedia disagree on the maximum; receiver trim list not confirmed2019–2026 Ram 1500 upgrades
Toyota Tacoma2016–2023Package: Toyota's releases put a Class IV towing receiver hitch with a 4- and 7-pin connector in the Tow Package; the 2018 release calls the V6 Tow Package optional2 in, Class IV (Toyota releases name the class; size from site data)6,800 with the Tow Package (site data)Not published on pages readToyota 2016, 2018, 2021 and 2023 releases (maker)2016–2023 Tacoma upgrades
Toyota Tacoma2024–2026Not confirmed from Toyota: the 2024 release names no receiver. CarGurus says a Class IV hitch is standard on the SR5 i-FORCE and TRD PreRunner XtraCab trucks rated 6,500 lb2 in (site data); site data says Class III, CarGurus says Class IV: not confirmed, read the label6,500 on SR5 i-FORCE and TRD PreRunner and XtraCab grades (Toyota 2024 release); CarGurus: SR 3,500, Trailhunter up to 6,000Not published on pages readToyota 2024 release for the rating (maker); receiver status from CarGurus (reference), not confirmed from Toyota2024–2026 Tacoma upgrades
Toyota Tundra2022–2026Not confirmed by grade: Toyota's 2022 release does not describe the receiver, and the site could not confirm from Toyota that every grade and year has one2 in, Class IV (site data; not confirmed from Toyota)12,000 (Toyota 2022 release)Not published on pages readToyota 2022 Tundra release for the rating (maker); receiver grade list not confirmed2022–2026 Tundra upgrades
Jeep Gladiator2020–2026Package or trim, partly confirmed: Jeep's 2024 release lists Trailer Tow equipment under the Willys, Mojave and Rubicon; Mopar sells an accessory receiver (82215648), so some trucks leave without one2 in; site data Class III, the Mopar accessory is described as Class IV: read the label7,700 when properly equipped (Jeep 2024 and 2025 releases); Wikipedia: 4,000 standard, 7,650 select Sport with HD tow package, 7,000 Rubicon automaticNot published on pages readJeep 2024 and 2025 releases (maker) for trims and rating; full trim list not confirmed; site data and Mopar listing disagree on class2020–2026 Gladiator upgrades
Ford Ranger2019–2023Package: the 2019 towing guide (copy posted on Ranger5G) lists the receiver with a 7-wire harness and 4-/7-pin connector as the optional Trailer Tow Package (53R); no trim confirmed with it standard2 in, Class IV (site data; class not on the Ford pages read)7,500 with the tow package and a trailer brake controller (Ford 2018 announcement)Not published on pages readFord document read as a forum-hosted copy, 2019 model year only (medium confidence); Ford announcement for the rating (maker)2019–2023 Ranger upgrades
Ford Ranger2024–2026Package: Class IV hitch receiver with 4-/7-pin connector in the Trailer Tow Package (53R), standard on the Raptor, optional on XL, XLT and LariatClass IV (Ford 2026 guide); 2 in per site data, opening size not confirmed on Ford pages7,500 with the package; Raptor 5,510; 3,500 bumper-only limit (Ford)750; Raptor 550 (Ford 2026 guide)Ford 2024 and 2026 Ranger towing guides (maker)2024–2026 Ranger upgrades
Chevrolet Colorado2023–2026Package: Chevrolet's 2023 brochure puts the trailer hitch and 7-pin connector in the Trailering Package; which trims get it as standard was not confirmedSite data Class IV, 2 in; the brochure prints no class or size7,700 with the Trailering or Advanced Trailering Package and the 2.7L Turbo Plus on WT and LT; ZR2 6,000 (Chevrolet 2023 brochure); GM Authority 2026: ZR2 Bison 5,500, 3,500 without the packageNot published on pages readChevrolet 2023 brochure (maker) for the package and rating; trim standard-ness not confirmed2023–2026 Colorado upgrades
Ford Maverick2022–2026Package: Class III 2 in receiver with 4-/7-pin connector in the 4K Tow Package (53Q); no factory receiver confirmed without it2 in, Class III (Ford towing guide)4,000 on AWD trucks with 4K (EcoBoost 2022–2026; hybrid AWD 2025–2026); 2,000 otherwise (Ford)400 (Ford towing guide, for the 4K package receiver); no separate figure found for 2,000 lb trucksFord 2025 Maverick towing information (maker)2022–2026 Maverick trailer hitches
Nissan Frontier2022–2026Trim or package: Nissan's 2025 specifications list a Class IV receiver hitch as standard on the SL 4x2 Crew Cab, optional on SV 4x2 and PRO-X, not listed on the S; the 4x4 columns could not be read cleanly; King Cab SV Convenience Package lists a trailer hitch with harnessClass IV (Nissan 2025 specifications); site data says Class III, 2 in: read the label6,720 at launch (site data, Wikipedia); up to 7,150 from 2025 (Nissan 2025 press kit, King Cab S 4x2)Nissan lists tongue load by configuration, 631 to 716, not labeled as a maximum; use the owner's manualNissan 2025 Frontier press kit (maker), table partly unreadable; site data and Nissan disagree on class2022–2026 Frontier upgrades
Toyota 4Runner2010–2024Standard on all grades: Toyota lists an integrated tow-hitch receiver and wiring harness as standard (2017, 2019, 2020 and 2021 releases)2 in, Class III (site data); Toyota names no class or size, read the label5,000 on all models (Toyota)500 (Toyota 2017, 2019, 2020 and 2021 releases)Toyota releases (maker)2010–2024 4Runner upgrades
Toyota 4Runner2025–2026Not confirmed: Toyota's launch release does not mention a receiver, and no Toyota source was found for which grades ship with oneSite data Class IV, 2 in; not confirmed from Toyota6,000 (Toyota launch release)Not published on pages readToyota 2025 4Runner release (maker) for the rating; receiver not confirmed2025–2026 4Runner upgrades
Jeep Wrangler JL2018–2026Package: Trailer Tow package; Jeep's 2024 press kit lists it as standard on the Rubicon and Rubicon X. The factory part is Mopar 82215209, a Class II receiver2 in, Class II, 3,500 lb (Mopar)2018–2023: 2,000 2-door, 3,500 4-door (dealer guides; Jeep 2018 release: up to 3,500 with towing package); 5,000 confirmed by Jeep only for 2024 and later 4-door Rubicon 2.0L or 3.6L automatics on 33 in tires; 4xe and 392: 3,500 (dealer guides)350 for the factory receiver (Mopar); vehicle tongue limit not confirmed from JeepJeep 2018 and 2024 press material (maker) plus Mopar listing; most 2024+ configurations not confirmed above 2018–2023 figures2018–2026 Wrangler trailer hitches
Ford Bronco2021–2026Dealer-installed on most: Ford's 2024 towing guide lists the hitch receiver, 7-wire harness with 4-/7-pin connector and trailer module as dealer-installed equipment, with a Trailer Tow Prep Package included on all models except the Raptor; the Raptor includes Tow Package 2 as standard. Bronco6G owners report the receiver only with the Trailer Tow Package2 in; Ford's guide prints no class; site data Class II; an etrailer expert answer rates the factory hitch 3,500 / 350 lb3,500 (most builds); Raptor 4,500 (Ford 2024 guide)350; Raptor 450 (Ford 2024 guide)Ford 2024 Bronco Towing Guide (maker); class not published2021–2026 Bronco trailer hitches
Toyota RAV42019–2025None on most versions. A Toyota dealer says the 2024 Adventure and TRD Off-Road include a receiver with the Tow Prep Package; Adventure and TRD Off-Road were discontinued for 2025Factory receiver size not confirmed; Toyota accessory PK960-42K10 has a 2 in tube, class not clearly stated on Toyota's page3,500 Adventure and TRD Off-Road with Tow Prep; 1,500 gas LE through Limited; 1,750 Hybrid; 2,500 Prime (2024 Toyota dealer figures)Not published on pages readToyota dealer pages (dealer); Toyota accessory page (maker) for the accessory hitch2019–2025 RAV4 trailer hitches
Honda CR-V2023–2026None confirmed: Honda accessory hitch 08L92-3A0-100 is dealer-installedHonda accessory: Class I, size not stated (Honda parts dealer); aftermarket Class 3, 2 in1,500 gas LX, EX, EX-L; 1,000 hybrid Sport, TrailSport, Sport-L, Sport Touring (Honda 2023 and 2026 specifications)Not published on pages readHonda specifications (maker) for the rating; accessory details from a Honda parts dealer (dealer)2023–2026 CR-V trailer hitches
Toyota Highlander2020–2026None confirmed on any grade: Toyota sells Tow Hitch Receiver PT228-48174 as an accessoryAccessory receiver, size not stated on the page read; aftermarket 2 in Class 35,000 on 2.4L turbo models; 3,500 on all Hybrid models (Toyota 2025 release); 2021 V6: 5,000 with the available towing package (Toyota 2021 release)Not published on pages readToyota releases and Toyota parts page (maker)2020–2026 Highlander trailer hitches
Subaru Outback2020–2025None from the factory: Subaru accessory hitch L101SAN000 (Class II, harness included) is dealer-installed; the Wilderness needs its own fascia panel2 in, Class II (Subaru accessory, per dealer listing); aftermarket 2 in Class III2,700 with the 2.5L (Base, Premium, Limited, Touring, Onyx Edition from 2023); 3,500 with the 2.4L turbo (XT trims, Wilderness) (Subaru)270 (2.5L); 350 (2.4L turbo) (Subaru accessory documentation)Subaru trim sheets and hitch documentation (maker) read through a Subaru dealer parts listing (dealer)2020–2025 Outback trailer hitches
Subaru Forester2019–2024None confirmed: Subaru accessory L101SSJ001 (2019–2021) or L101SSJ005 (2022–2024 and 2025 Wilderness), both dealer-installed1-1/4 in, Class One per dealer (2019–2021); 2 in (2022–2024); site data 1.25 in Class II1,500; Wilderness 3,000 (Subaru 2019, 2022 and 2024 sheets)150; Wilderness 300 (Subaru dealer listing for the 2022–2024 hitch); 2019–2021 not confirmed, the dealer page for that hitch prints 176Subaru trim sheets (maker) for the rating; Subaru Parts Pros (dealer) for the hitch and tongue figures2019–2024 Forester trailer hitches
Tesla Model Y2020–2026Package only: 2 in receiver with the Tesla Tow Package, sold with the car or later through the Tesla Shop; the owner's manual says not to install an accessory carrier on a car without it2 in; Tesla prints no class (Class 3 is the aftermarket label)3,500 for 5-seat and Performance with five or fewer occupants; lower limits on 6- and 7-seat cars by wheel size and occupied seats (Tesla owner's manual)350; carriers up to 160 vertical load (Tesla owner's manual)Tesla owner's manual and Tesla Shop (maker)2020–2026 Model Y trailer hitches
Tesla Model 32017–2026Package only, 2024 and later: the Tesla Shop lists the Tow Package for Rear-Wheel Drive and All-Wheel Drive cars produced in 2024 or later, not the Performance; 2017–2023 cars: none, and the manual says do not use Model 3 for towing2 in with 4-pin connector (Tesla Shop); Tesla prints no class; site data lists no factory class2,200 with trailer brakes, 1,650 without, only with the Tesla package (Tesla owner's manual)200; carriers up to 121 (Tesla owner's manual, with the package)Tesla Shop and owner's manuals (maker)2017–2026 Model 3 trailer hitches
Ford Explorer2020–2026Package 2020–2024: Trailer Tow Package, optional on most trims, standard on the ST in Ford's 2024 guide; standard 2025–2026: Class III Trailer Tow Package (Ford)2 in; Ford names the package Class IV in its 2023 and 2024 guides and Class III for 2025–2026; 2020–2022 name not confirmed, read the label5,300 2.3L; 5,600 3.0L (2020–2024, with package); 5,000 (2025–2026); 3,000 without the package (Ford 2024 guide)560 (Ford 2024 guide); 500 (Ford 2026 guide)Ford 2023, 2024 and 2026 towing guides and 2025 Explorer page (maker)2020–2026 Explorer trailer hitches
Jeep Grand Cherokee WL2022–2026Package: factory receiver only on vehicles built with the available Trailer-Tow Package, which a dealer towing guide says includes 4- and 7-pin wiring2 in; Class IV per a dealer towing guide, Class III per the Mopar replacement listing: read the label6,200 3.6L V6 and 2026 2.0L turbo (Jeep 2026 capability page); 7,200 5.7L V8 where offered; 4xe 6,000 Trailhawk and up, 3,500 base trims (one dealer guide)Not published on pages readJeep capability page (maker) for the V6 and turbo; dealer towing guide (dealer) for the package and class2022–2026 Grand Cherokee trailer hitches
Chevrolet Tahoe2021–2026Not confirmed by trim: the site's hub says most Tahoes ship with a receiver but could not confirm from Chevrolet which trims and years; a request for Chevrolet's 2024 brochure failed on October 8, 20262 in, Class IV (site data; not confirmed from Chevrolet)8,400 maximum available with the Max Trailering Package (Chevrolet Tahoe page)Not published on pages readChevrolet page (maker) for the rating; receiver trim list not confirmed2021–2026 Tahoe upgrades
Kia Telluride2020–2025Not confirmed by trim: the site could not confirm from Kia which trims got the tow package in each year; Kia's 2024 specifications page lists no hitch; a harness listing says the factory tow package is requiredFactory receiver not confirmed; aftermarket 2 in Class III5,000; 5,500 on the X-Pro (Kia 2023 press kit; Kia 2024 specifications)500 per owner reports on TellurideForum; not confirmed from KiaKia press kit and specifications (maker) for the rating; receiver status not confirmed; tongue weight from owner reports (low confidence)2020–2025 Telluride trailer hitches
Hyundai Palisade2020–2025None: Hyundai's 2020, 2023 and 2024 spec sheets list no tow hitch as equipment; the 2023 sheet lists pre-wiring and a heavy-duty transmission coolerNo factory receiver; aftermarket 2 in Class 35,000 with trailer brakes; 1,650 without (Hyundai 2020, 2023 and 2024 spec sheets)Not published on pages readHyundai specification sheets (maker)2020–2025 Palisade trailer hitches
Honda Pilot2023–2026Trim: integrated Class III trailer hitch standard on the TrailSport only (Honda Info Center, Honda press kit); other trims need a dealer accessory or an aftermarket hitch2 in, Class III (Honda Info Center)5,000 AWD; 3,500 2WD (Honda)In the owner's manual; not published on pages readHonda Info Center and 2023 press kit (maker)2023–2026 Pilot trailer hitches
Toyota Sequoia2023–2026Not confirmed by grade: the Toyota releases read do not describe the receiver2 in, Class IV (site data; not confirmed from Toyota)Up to 9,520 (Toyota releases for 2023, 2025 and 2026); the January 2022 reveal said 9,000Not published on pages readToyota releases (maker) for the rating; receiver grade list not confirmed2023–2026 Sequoia upgrades

How to read the chart

Each row is one vehicle generation as the site stores it. The columns answer separate questions, and the last two tell you how much to trust the rest.

  • Factory receiver? is the status: standard, package, trim, dealer accessory, none, or not confirmed. A package means the receiver was an order option, so two trucks of the same trim can differ. A trim means one named trim includes it. Not confirmed means the site found no maker page that lists the receiver by trim, which is different from the vehicle lacking one.
  • Receiver size and class gives the opening (2 in on nearly everything here, 1.25 in on the older Forester accessory hitch) and the class where a source names it. Several rows carry two classes from two sources. That is reported as a disagreement, not resolved by guessing.
  • Max tow is the maker's highest figure for the generation, with the engine, trim or package it depends on. Your own figure is in the owner's manual and may be lower.
  • Tongue weight is printed only where a maker or, for two Subarus, a Subaru dealer listing gives one. Most rows say not published, because the pages the site read do not state it.
  • Source / confidence names the page type: a maker release, towing guide, brochure or owner's manual counts as maker; a dealer page, parts dealer or retailer counts as dealer or retailer; a forum post or reference site is named as such. Where the site's own research note says unconfirmed, the row says so.
  • Guide on this site points to the page with the full fit table for that vehicle.

Read the status column first, then the source column. A row that says standard from a maker towing guide is the strongest evidence here. A row that says not confirmed sends you to the bumper and the window sticker.

The three ways a receiver arrives, and why a trim name is not proof

A receiver reaches a vehicle in one of three ways, and the chart tags each row with one of them.

Standard equipment. The receiver is on every vehicle of that generation. Only two rows reach this bar from a maker page: Toyota's releases list an integrated tow-hitch receiver and wiring harness as standard on all grades of the 2010–2024 4Runner, and Ford's 2024 F-150 towing guide says a 2 in receiver rated 11,600 lb is standard. Even then the F-150 row is narrower than it looks, because the site read the 2024 guide and could not confirm the same status for the 2021–2023 trucks.

A factory package. The receiver is built in on the assembly line, but only when the package was ordered. Ford's Trailer Tow Package on the Ranger, the 4K Tow Package on the Maverick, the Explorer's Trailer Tow Package through 2024, Jeep's Trailer Tow package on the Wrangler and Trailer-Tow Package on the Grand Cherokee, Toyota's Tow Package on the 2016–2023 Tacoma and Chevrolet's Trailering Package on the Colorado all work this way. Packages often bring more than the receiver: the 7-pin connector, a brake controller, extra cooling and sometimes a higher rating. The Maverick is the clearest case, because without the 4K package the truck is rated 2,000 lb and with it an AWD truck is rated 4,000 lb.

A dealer accessory. The receiver is bolted on after the build, by the dealer or by the owner. Ford's 2024 Bronco towing guide describes the Bronco's hitch receiver this way, and Honda, Toyota (Highlander and RAV4), Subaru, Kia and Mopar all sell accessory receivers for vehicles in the chart. An accessory receiver gives you a hitch; it does not change the figure in the owner's manual.

The trim name is unreliable because packages cut across trims. Ford's 2024 Ranger guide makes the receiver standard on the Raptor and optional on XL, XLT and Lariat, so two Lariats can differ. Jeep's 2024 press kit lists the Wrangler's Trailer Tow package as standard on the Rubicon and Rubicon X, which leaves every other trim as an order question. The exceptions where trim alone is proof are few: the Pilot TrailSport (Honda), the 2010–2024 4Runner (Toyota) and, per Ford's guides, the Ranger Raptor and 2025–2026 Explorer.

How to check a used truck in 60 seconds

The chart tells you what to expect. The vehicle tells you what you have. Four checks cover it.

1. Look under the rear bumper. A factory receiver is a square tube centered behind the bumper, often with a plastic plug in the opening. On the Wrangler, Gladiator and Bronco it sits right below the tailgate-mounted spare. On the Maverick, Explorer and most car-based SUVs it pokes through or sits just behind the lower fascia. If you see only a hole in the bumper face for a ball, that is a bumper ball mount, not a receiver, and the site's Frontier hub says to read the owner's manual for what that bumper is rated to pull. 2. Read the receiver label. Makers stamp or sticker the class and the ratings on the receiver itself. This is the only way to settle the rows where sources disagree on class: the Frontier (Nissan says Class IV, site data says Class III), the Grand Cherokee (Class IV per a dealer guide, Class III per the Mopar listing), the Gladiator and the 2024 Tacoma. On the Wrangler the label matters most, since owners on JLwranglerforums report every factory JL receiver they have seen is the Class II Mopar part rated 3,500 lb. 3. Find the trailer socket. A flat 4-pin connector runs lights only. A round 7-pin adds brake-controller and charge circuits, and on the Ford trucks, the Colorado and the Teslas it comes with the package. No socket at all usually means no package, though a receiver can still be there as an accessory. 4. Read the window sticker or dealer invoice. The package name and option code are printed there: 53R on the Ranger, 53Q on the Maverick, 53T for the F-150 Tow/Haul Package in Ford's 2024 guide. On a used vehicle without paperwork, a dealer can look the build up by VIN, which the site's Palisade guide recommends.

If all four line up, you have a factory package and need a ball mount, a ball and perhaps a brake controller. If only the receiver is there, treat it as an accessory and read its label before you load it.

Class, receiver size and the vehicle rating: the lowest number wins

Hitch class is a rating system for the receiver, not for the vehicle. The site's trailer hitch classes explainer covers the bands in detail; what matters here is that a receiver's class describes what the receiver can carry, and the vehicle's rating describes what the vehicle can pull. The lower of the two is your limit, along with the ball mount, the ball and the trailer coupler.

That cuts both ways in the chart. A Class IV receiver on a 2010–2024 4Runner is still a 5,000 lb setup, because that is Toyota's figure for the vehicle. The site's Pilot and Palisade guides make the same point: every aftermarket hitch they list is rated above the vehicle, so the vehicle is the limit. The other direction is the trap. The Wrangler's factory Mopar receiver is a Class II rated 3,500 lb and 350 lb tongue weight, and Jeep confirms 5,000 lb only for 2024 and later 4-door Rubicon automatics on 33 in tires. A Rubicon owner towing near 5,000 lb through the factory part is over the receiver's rating, which is why the site's Wrangler guide says to read the label. Ford's 2024 F-150 guide shows the same structure inside one truck: the standard receiver is rated 11,600 lb and the Tow/Haul Package's reinforced receiver 14,000 lb.

Receiver size is a separate question from class. Almost every vehicle in the chart uses a 2 in opening, which takes the widest range of ball mounts and bike racks. The exceptions are the 2019–2021 Forester accessory hitch at 1-1/4 in, and two rows where the size is not confirmed: the RAV4 Tow Prep receiver, which a Toyota dealer mentions without a size, and the 2024–2026 Ranger, where Ford's guides name Class IV but the site could not find the opening size on a Ford page. Measure the opening before buying a rack.

A receiver never raises a rating. Chevrolet's Colorado brochure ties 7,700 lb to the Trailering or Advanced Trailering Package and the 2.7L Turbo Plus, and GM Authority reports 3,500 lb for trucks without the package. Bolting a receiver onto a truck built without the package gives it a receiver, not the package rating.

Rows where two sources give different classes (read the label on the receiver)
VehicleSite dataOther sourceWhat to do
2022–2026 Nissan FrontierClass III, 2 inNissan 2025 specifications: Class IV receiver hitchRead the label; the Nissan figure is newer and from the maker
2022–2026 Jeep Grand CherokeeClass IV, 2 inDealer towing guide: Class IV; Mopar replacement listing: Class III, same as productionRead the label; tow to the Jeep rating either way
2020–2026 Jeep GladiatorClass III, 2 inMopar accessory receiver 82215648 described as Class IVRead the label; the accessory may differ from a package part
2024–2026 Toyota TacomaClass III, 2 inCarGurus: Class IV standard on SR5 i-FORCE and TRD PreRunner XtraCabNot confirmed from Toyota; read the label
2020–2026 Ford ExplorerClass III, 2 inFord guides: Class IV package for 2023–2024, Class III package for 2025–2026Ford renamed the package; read the label on a 2020–2022
2021–2026 Ford BroncoClass II, 2 inFord 2024 guide prints no class; etrailer expert answer: 3,500 / 350 lbTreat the etrailer figures as the working rating

Tongue weight is the real ceiling

Tongue weight is the downward load on the receiver: the trailer's coupler weight, or the whole weight of a hitch bike rack or cargo carrier. It is usually the number you hit first, and it is the number most makers leave off the pages the site read. The chart prints a tongue figure only where a source states it.

The maker figures in the chart are these. Toyota gives 500 lb for the 2010–2024 4Runner. Ford gives 500 lb weight-carrying and 1,350 lb with weight distribution for the 2024 F-150, 750 lb for the 2024–2026 Ranger and 550 lb for the Ranger Raptor, 400 lb for the Maverick's 4K package receiver, 350 lb for the Bronco and 450 lb for the Bronco Raptor, and 560 lb for the 2024 Explorer against 500 lb in the 2026 guide. Tesla gives 350 lb for the Model Y and 200 lb for the Model 3, each with its own package, plus separate carrier limits of 160 lb and 121 lb. Subaru's accessory documentation gives 270 lb for the 2.5L Outback and 350 lb for the turbo. A Subaru dealer listing gives 150 lb for the 2022–2024 Forester and 300 lb for the Wilderness, and the site could not confirm which figure applies to 2019–2021 cars. Mopar gives 350 lb for the Wrangler's factory receiver, which is the part's rating, not Jeep's vehicle figure.

Two rows carry figures that are not maker maximums. Nissan's 2025 Frontier specifications list tongue load values from 631 to 716 lb by configuration without labeling them as limits. Owners on TellurideForum cite 500 lb for the Telluride, and the site's Telluride guide uses that figure while saying it could not confirm it from Kia.

The 10 percent rule appears in the chart only where a source states it. The Telluride thread points out that 500 lb is 10 percent of 5,000 lb, and the Subaru figures sit at exactly 10 percent of the tow ratings. The site's Forester and Outback guides pass on the general advice to keep tongue weight around 10 to 15 percent of trailer weight for stability. That advice does not create a limit for a vehicle whose maker prints none. Where the chart says not published, the owner's manual is the only source.

For bike racks, the tongue figure is the whole budget. A platform rack with two e-bikes can pass 100 lb on its own, which the site's Forester guide notes is most of a 150 lb limit. On a Model Y or Model 3 the carrier limit is lower than the tongue figure, and Tesla's manuals say not to fit a carrier at all without the Tesla tow package.

Hybrids, EVs and tow packages

Electrified versions of the vehicles in the chart carry their own ratings, and the chart keeps them separate where the sources do.

Toyota. The Highlander Hybrid is 3,500 lb against 5,000 lb for the 2.4L turbo (Toyota 2025 release). The RAV4 Hybrid is 1,750 lb and the Prime 2,500 lb in 2024 dealer figures. The Tundra and Sequoia use the i-FORCE MAX hybrid, standard on the Sequoia, and their rows carry Toyota's maximums of 12,000 and 9,520 lb without a receiver list.

Honda. CR-V hybrids (Sport, TrailSport, Sport-L, Sport Touring) are rated 1,000 lb against 1,500 lb for gas trims in Honda's 2023 and 2026 specifications. None has a factory receiver confirmed.

Ford. The Maverick hybrid is the one that changed. Ford's towing information gives 2,000 lb for every 2022–2024 hybrid, and 4,000 lb for 2025–2026 hybrids with AWD and the 4K package. Explorer hybrids (2020–2023 retail) got the receiver only with the Trailer Tow Package, like the gas models, and Ford's 2024 guide listed 5,000 lb for the 3.3L hybrid. The F-150 Lightning's receiver rating in Ford's 2024 guide is 10,000 lb with weight distribution, and the guide requires the Trailer Tow Package (53D) for trailers over 5,000 lb with the standard-range battery.

Jeep. The Wrangler 4xe is 3,500 lb in dealer guides, and Quadratec confirms the Mopar receiver fits it. The Grand Cherokee 4xe is 6,000 lb on Trailhawk and higher trims and 3,500 lb on base trims per one dealer guide, and the site notes that figure is not on the Jeep 2026 pages it read.

Tesla. Neither car has a receiver without the Tesla Tow Package. The Model Y package fits all Model Y vehicles and brings a 2 in receiver, a 7-pin connector and Trailer Mode, which Tesla says must be active when towing. The Model 3 package is listed only for Rear-Wheel Drive and All-Wheel Drive cars produced in 2024 or later, not the Performance, and the Vehicle Loading page of both Model 3 manuals says not to use the car for towing. Both manuals say not to install an accessory carrier on a car without the package, and the site's guides could not confirm how Tesla service treats an aftermarket hitch, so ask Tesla first.

Electrified versions in the chart and their maker figures
VehicleElectrified versionRatingFactory receiver
Toyota HighlanderHybrid3,500 lb (Toyota 2025 release)None confirmed; accessory
Toyota RAV4Hybrid; Prime (Plug-in Hybrid from 2025)1,750 lb; 2,500 lb (2024 dealer figures)Not standard
Honda CR-VSport, TrailSport, Sport-L, Sport Touring1,000 lb (Honda)None confirmed; accessory
Ford Maverick2.5L hybrid2,000 lb (2022–2024); 4,000 lb AWD with 4K (2025–2026) (Ford)Only with 4K Tow Package
Ford F-150Lightning10,000 lb with weight distribution (Ford 2024 guide)Per Ford guide; 53D package for over 5,000 lb with standard-range battery
Jeep Wrangler4xe3,500 lb (dealer guides)Trailer Tow package; Mopar receiver fits 4xe
Jeep Grand Cherokee4xe6,000 lb Trailhawk and up; 3,500 lb base (one dealer guide)Only with Trailer-Tow Package
Tesla Model YAll3,500 lb 5-seat and Performance (Tesla manual)Only with Tesla Tow Package
Tesla Model 3All2,200 lb braked, 2024+ RWD and AWD only (Tesla)Only with Tesla Tow Package; none for 2017–2023 or Performance

The vehicles the site could not confirm, and what to ask the dealer

Twelve rows carry some form of not confirmed in the status column. They fall into three groups.

Full-size trucks and SUVs with no trim list. Silverado 1500, Sierra 1500, Ram 1500, Tundra, Tahoe and Sequoia. The site's stored data lists a Class IV hitch with a 2 in receiver for each, the makers publish the maximum tow figures in the chart, and the site's hubs say most of these vehicles have a receiver. What the site could not find is a maker page that says which trims and model years include it. For the Tahoe, a request for Chevrolet's 2024 brochure returned an error on October 8, 2026, so the row stays as the site's hub had it. Ask the dealer to pull the build sheet by VIN and read the trailering package line, and ask whether the trailer brake controller and 7-pin connector are on it.

Midsize trucks with a package but no trim list. Colorado, Gladiator, 2019–2023 Ranger and 2024–2026 Tacoma. Chevrolet's 2023 brochure confirms the Trailering Package includes the hitch and 7-pin connector but not which trims get it as standard. Jeep's 2024 release lists Trailer Tow equipment under the Willys, Mojave and Rubicon and nowhere else the site could read. The 2019 Ranger towing guide was read as a forum-hosted copy for one model year. Toyota's 2024 Tacoma release confirms the 6,500 lb rating on the SR5 i-FORCE and TRD PreRunner XtraCab but says nothing about the receiver; the Class IV claim for those trucks is CarGurus'. Ask the dealer for the option code on the sticker (53R on the Ranger) and whether the receiver was fitted at the factory or by the dealer.

SUVs with a package the site could not pin down. Telluride and 2025–2026 4Runner. Kia's 2024 specifications page lists no hitch, and the site's guide could not confirm which trims got the tow package. Toyota's 2025 4Runner release does not mention a receiver at all. Ask the dealer which grades carry a receiver, what class is on its label, and, for the Telluride, whether the tow package includes the pre-wired connector that the site found a harness listing requires.

The common thread: not confirmed is a statement about the site's sources, not about your vehicle. The bumper, the label and the build sheet answer in minutes what the brochures leave out.

Cite or embed this chart

The chart on this page may be quoted or reproduced with a link to this page as the source. Page URL: https://rigconfigurator.com/learn/factory-tow-hitch-by-vehicle. Reviewed October 8, 2026 (2026-10-08). Each row carries its own source and confidence note; please keep those with any excerpt.

Example citation: RigConfigurator, Factory Tow Hitch by Vehicle, reviewed 2026-10-08, https://rigconfigurator.com/learn/factory-tow-hitch-by-vehicle

Which one to buy

If the chart says standard or trim for your vehicle (2010–2024 4Runner, 2024 F-150, Pilot TrailSport, Ranger Raptor, 2025–2026 Explorer): Confirm the receiver under the bumper, read its label, and buy a ball mount and wiring instead of a hitch.

If the chart says package: Look under the bumper and check the window sticker for the package code before ordering anything. Two vehicles of the same trim can differ.

If the chart says none or dealer accessory: Go to the site's trailer hitch guide for your vehicle. The aftermarket parts there are listed for vehicles without a factory receiver, and the vehicle rating in the chart is your ceiling.

If the chart says not confirmed: Treat the row as a question list for the dealer: receiver fitted, class on the label, 7-pin connector, brake controller. The maker tow figure in the row still applies.

If two sources in the row disagree on class: Read the label on your receiver. The chart does not pick a winner.

If you plan a hitch bike rack or cargo carrier: Use the tongue weight column, not the tow column. Where it says not published, find the figure in the owner's manual before loading the rack.

Find the right one for your vehicle

Each guide lists only the parts sold for that generation, with its fit gotchas.

All hitches guides →All bike racks guides →

What to avoid

Treating a trim badge as a receiver. On most vehicles here the receiver comes with a package that cuts across trims. A Lariat Ranger, an LT Colorado or a Sahara Wrangler may or may not have one.

Towing to the receiver's class. A Class IV label does not raise a 5,000 lb vehicle, and a Class II factory receiver caps a 5,000 lb Rubicon. The lowest number in the chain is the limit.

Guessing a tongue weight. Most makers in the chart do not print one on the pages read. A rack and bikes count in full, so read the owner's manual rather than assuming 10 percent.

Reading not confirmed as no receiver. The Silverado, Sierra, Ram, Tundra, Tahoe and Sequoia rows mean the site found no trim list, not that the vehicles lack a hitch. Look before you buy one.

Frequently asked questions

How do I know if my truck or SUV has a factory tow hitch?

Look under the rear bumper for a square receiver tube, usually 2 in across on the vehicles in this chart and 1.25 in on some small SUVs. A factory receiver sits centered behind the bumper and often has a plastic cover in the opening. Then look for a trailer socket nearby: a flat 4-pin, a round 7-pin, or both. Read the label on the receiver for its class and rating. If you bought the vehicle used, the window sticker or the dealer invoice names the package. On most of the vehicles in the chart the receiver comes with a package, not a trim, so the trim badge on the tailgate does not settle it.

Does a Class III or Class IV receiver raise my tow rating?

No. The vehicle rating in the owner's manual is the ceiling, and the lowest number in the chain wins: vehicle, receiver, ball mount, ball and trailer coupler. A Class IV receiver on a 4Runner is still a 5,000 lb setup, because that is Toyota's figure for the vehicle. The reverse also applies. The site's Wrangler guide notes that the factory Mopar receiver is a Class II rated 3,500 lb, so a 2024 or later 4-door Rubicon that Jeep rates at 5,000 lb cannot use that rating through the factory part. Read both the manual and the receiver label.

Which vehicles in the chart ship with a receiver on every trim?

Only two are confirmed from the maker. Toyota lists an integrated tow-hitch receiver and wiring harness as standard on all grades of the 2010–2024 4Runner in its 2017, 2019, 2020 and 2021 releases. Ford's 2024 F-150 towing guide says a 2 in receiver rated 11,600 lb is standard on the pickup, with a reinforced 14,000 lb receiver in the Tow/Haul Package. Everything else in the chart is a package, a single trim, a dealer accessory, or not confirmed. The site could not confirm a trim list from Chevrolet, GMC, Ram or Toyota for the Silverado, Sierra, Ram 1500, Tundra, Tahoe or Sequoia.

Which vehicles never come with a factory receiver?

The site could not confirm any factory receiver on the 2023–2026 Honda CR-V, the 2020–2026 Toyota Highlander, the 2020–2025 Subaru Outback, the 2019–2024 Subaru Forester or the 2020–2025 Hyundai Palisade, whose Hyundai spec sheets list no tow hitch as equipment. Each of those makers sells a hitch as an accessory. On the 2019–2025 RAV4, most versions have no receiver; a Toyota dealer says the 2024 Adventure and TRD Off-Road include one with Tow Prep. Tesla's Model 3 and Model Y get a receiver only with the Tesla Tow Package, and Tesla lists the Model 3 package only for 2024 and later Rear-Wheel Drive and All-Wheel Drive cars.

What is the difference between a tow package and a dealer-installed hitch?

A factory tow package is built into the vehicle on the assembly line and usually bundles more than the receiver: a 7-pin connector, a trailer brake controller, extra cooling and sometimes a higher tow rating. Ford's Maverick 4K Tow Package is the clearest example, since it raises an AWD truck from 2,000 lb to 4,000 lb. A dealer-installed hitch is an accessory bolted on after the build. Ford's 2024 Bronco towing guide lists the Bronco's hitch receiver, harness and trailer module as dealer-installed equipment. An accessory hitch gives you a receiver and sometimes a harness, but it never changes the rating printed in the owner's manual.

How much tongue weight can a factory receiver carry?

Only what the maker prints, and most makers in this chart print nothing on the pages the site read. Toyota gives 500 lb for the 2010–2024 4Runner. Ford gives 500 lb weight-carrying for the 2024 F-150, 750 lb for the 2024–2026 Ranger (550 lb on the Raptor), 400 lb for the Maverick's 4K package receiver, 350 lb for the Bronco (450 lb on the Raptor) and 560 lb for the 2024 Explorer. Tesla gives 350 lb for the Model Y and 200 lb for the Model 3 with its package. Subaru gives 270 or 350 lb on the Outback by engine. Where the chart says not published, use the owner's manual.

Does a hitch bike rack count against tongue weight?

Yes, all of it. A platform rack with two e-bikes can weigh well over 100 lb, and every pound of it sits on the receiver as tongue load. The site's Forester guide puts the non-Wilderness tongue limit at 150 lb per a Subaru dealer listing, so a heavy rack alone can reach it. Tesla's manuals give separate carrier limits: 160 lb on the Model Y and 121 lb on the Model 3, and both manuals say not to install an accessory carrier on a car without the Tesla tow package. On larger vehicles the rack rarely hits the limit, but the receiver's own label still applies.

Why does the chart say not confirmed for the Silverado, Sierra, Ram and Tundra?

Because the site's upgrades pages for those trucks could not confirm, from a Chevrolet, GMC, Ram or Toyota page, that every trim and model year leaves the factory with the receiver fitted. The site's stored data lists a Class IV hitch with a 2 in receiver for each, and the makers publish the maximum tow figures shown in the chart, but a trim-by-trim equipment list was not found. That is not the same as saying the trucks lack a receiver. Most of them have one. It means the page will not print a trim list it did not read, so look under the bumper and read the window sticker.

Can I tow with a hybrid or EV in this chart?

Within the maker's figures, yes. Toyota rates the Highlander Hybrid at 3,500 lb and the gas 2.4L turbo at 5,000 lb. Honda rates the CR-V hybrid at 1,000 lb against 1,500 lb for gas trims. The RAV4 Hybrid is 1,750 lb and the Prime 2,500 lb in 2024 dealer figures. Ford's 2025 Maverick hybrid with AWD and the 4K package is 4,000 lb; 2022–2024 hybrids are 2,000 lb trucks. Tesla's Model Y is 3,500 lb with its package. The Model 3 is 2,200 lb with trailer brakes on 2024 and later RWD and AWD cars with the package, and Tesla's manual otherwise says not to use the Model 3 for towing.

Is a 7-pin socket proof of a factory tow package?

It is strong evidence, not proof. On Ford trucks the 7-wire harness and 4-/7-pin connector come with the Trailer Tow Package on the Ranger and Maverick, and Ford's 2024 F-150 guide lists the connector as standard. Chevrolet's 2023 Colorado brochure puts the 7-pin connector in the Trailering Package with the hitch. But a previous owner can add a 7-pin socket with an aftermarket harness, and the site's Telluride guide found a harness listing that says a factory tow package is required, which suggests some Tellurides lack the plug. Treat the socket as one clue, and read the receiver label and window sticker too.

If my vehicle has a factory receiver, what should I buy?

A ball mount with the right rise or drop, a hitch ball sized to the coupler, a locking pin and, if the trailer has brakes, a brake controller unless the package included one. The site's guides for the Maverick, Explorer and Pilot all say the same thing: a vehicle with a factory receiver does not need an aftermarket trailer hitch, and the hitch makers list their parts for vehicles without one. If a bike rack is the goal, the receiver size decides the rack: 2 in on nearly every vehicle here, 1.25 in on the 2019–2021 Forester accessory hitch and some Model 3 aftermarket parts.

BOTTOM LINE

Use the chart to know what to expect, then confirm it in 60 seconds under the bumper: the receiver, its label and the trailer socket decide what you have, and the owner's manual decides what you can tow.

Only two vehicles in the chart are confirmed with a receiver on every version from a maker page. The rest come with a package, a single trim, a dealer accessory, or nothing, and twelve rows could not be confirmed by trim from the maker at all. That is why the status column matters less than the source column, and why every row ends with where the figure came from. A maker towing guide is firm evidence. A dealer page or a forum report is a lead. Not confirmed is an instruction to look.

Once you know what you have, the next page is specific. If the receiver is there, the money goes to a ball mount, wiring and a brake controller, and a bike rack sized to the receiver and the tongue figure. If it is not, the site's trailer hitch guide for your vehicle lists the aftermarket parts sold for vehicles without a factory receiver, with the fascia, exhaust and sensor notes each install needs. The trailer hitch classes explainer covers what the class bands mean, and the roof rack and cargo box guides are the place to put the luggage so the tongue carries only the bikes.

How we wrote this

We did not inspect these vehicles. The chart is built from the site's stored vehicle data and research notes, the site's trailer hitch guides and vehicle upgrades hubs, and maker and retailer pages those guides cite. On October 8, 2026 we also opened Ford's 2024 F-150 and 2024 Bronco towing guides, Nissan's 2025 Frontier press kit, Toyota's 2024 Tacoma and 2022 Tundra releases and Kia's 2024 Telluride specifications to confirm or source rows the site marks unconfirmed. A request for Chevrolet's 2024 Tahoe brochure returned an error, so that row stays as the site had it. A figure that appears in no source is written as not published or not confirmed, never estimated. The owner's manual and the door-jamb label are the authority for your own vehicle.

Sources
JM
Jake Morrison · Fitment editor

Jake Morrison edits Rig Configurator's buying guides and keeps its fitment database current. Every product is matched to a vehicle generation, bed length or roof type using the maker's fit guide and part-number listing, then checked against owner reports, before it appears on a page. His own daily driver is a 2019 Toyota Premio.

10 years in Amazon product researchMaintains the Rig Configurator fitment databaseSources cited on every guide