Best Roof Racks for 2020–2026 Toyota Highlander: 6 Cross Bar Picks by Trim and Roof Rail
Six cross bar sets for the 4th-generation Highlander's factory side rails, from budget Amazon side-rail bars to Toyota's own PT767-48200, plus the Thule and Yakima fixed-point systems etrailer lists at around $700. We list which trims have rails, each set's load rating and lock status, and what a roof load costs you in fuel.

Fit-checked means: matched to the maker's fit guide and part number, then checked against owner reports; not installed by us (how we chose). Covers the 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025 and 2026 Toyota Highlander (4th Gen (XU70)); some listings name fewer model years, so check the fit note on each pick.
Highlander roof figures
| Roof | Flush rails with fixed points on railed trims; some roofs bare (L, LE to confirm) |
|---|---|
| Roof load (lb) | not published / not confirmed |
| What the figure covers | No Toyota roof figure; Toyota cross bars PT767-48200 listed at 165 lb (75 kg) by a Canadian Toyota dealer; Thule and Yakima systems 165 lb (etrailer) |
| Source | dealer page (Toyota Customs, Edmonton) and retailer kit ratings; crossbar rating, not a roof figure |
- Check your roof first. XLE, XSE, Limited and Platinum trims have factory side rails, per the listings here. Some Highlanders, possibly base L or LE, come bare and need a different system.
- It's not a Grand Highlander. That's a larger 2024+ vehicle with its own roof. Buy bars that name the 2020–2026 Highlander.
- The rails have fixed points. etrailer classes them as flush rails with fixed mounting points, which Thule's Evo Fixpoint and Yakima's SkyLine use. We could not confirm how the four budget Amazon sets attach, so check their listing photos. A flush rail has no gap under it; a raised rail does.
- Toyota's own bars are listed at 165 lb. Genuine PT767-48200 bars bolt to the rails; a Canadian Toyota dealer's parts store lists 75 kg (165 lb) evenly distributed, and BRIGHTLINES' fixed-point replacement lists 154 lb.
- Roof cargo costs fuel. fueleconomy.gov puts a rooftop box at 10–25% worse at 65–75 mph. Take bars off when you don't need them.
2020–2026 Highlander roofs
| Roof | Trims | What fits | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Factory side rails | XLE, XSE, Limited, Platinum (per listings), gas and Hybrid | Amazon side-rail bars; Thule Evo Fixpoint (kit TH22RE); Yakima SkyLine | Most common. etrailer calls these flush rails with fixed points. |
| Bare roof | Some Highlanders, possibly L or LE (confirm yours) | Naked-roof systems: Yakima BaseLine, Thule clamp systems, Inno Aero | Side-rail bars will not fit. |
| 2023+ turbo / 2020–2022 V6 | All | Same bars | Engine change only; etrailer lists the same Thule kit. |
| Grand Highlander (2024+) | Different vehicle | Its own parts | Do not buy Highlander bars for it. |
What to look for in Highlander roof racks
Roof type: rails, fixed points or bare
The 4th-gen Highlander's factory side rails sit flush on the roof. etrailer's fit data classes them as flush-mounted rails with fixed mounting points, which is how Thule's Evo Fixpoint feet and Yakima's SkyLine towers attach, and The Rack Shop sells its Thule kit for the Highlander "w/flush rails". To check yours, look at the rail from the side: a raised rail has a gap you could pass a strap under, and a flush rail has none. The four budget Amazon sets here are sold as bars for the factory side rails. We could not confirm from a page we could open how their feet attach. Richeer's title says "Raised Side Rails"; that is the seller's wording, so compare the foot in the listing photos with your rail. Either approach needs rails. If your roof is bare, you need a naked-roof system such as Yakima's BaseLine, which etrailer lists for the 2023 Highlander at $604.75 to $773.75. Door-jamb clip systems work on any roof, but they cost several times more than rail bars.
Trim names in the listing
Cross bar listings for this Highlander name trims, not just years, because rails vary. The Snailfly and HEKA listings name XLE, XSE, Limited and Platinum, HEKA adds the Hybrid, and the lockable 260 lb set names XLE, Limited and Platinum. None of the Amazon listings names the L or LE. If you own one of those, look at the roof before ordering: if there are rails, measure them against the listing photos, and if the roof is bare, skip side-rail bars altogether. A quick photo of your roof sent to the seller is the fastest way to settle it.
Load rating: bars vs roof
Each set lists its own rating. The Thule WingBar Evo and Yakima SkyLine systems carry 165 lb according to etrailer, and a Canadian Toyota dealer's parts store lists the same 165 lb for Toyota's own bars. The Richeer bars list 220 lb and the lockable set lists 260 lb. Those are all bar ratings. We could not confirm a separate roof figure for this generation from a Toyota document, so plan around 165 lb and treat the owner's manual as the authority. The lowest figure is what you can carry while driving, and it includes the weight of the bars and any box. Load heavy items low and centered between the bars, and strap long items to both bars.
Years: 2020–2025 vs 2026 listings
The 2023 update replaced the V6 with a 2.4 L turbo four but kept the body, and etrailer lists Thule's TH22RE fit kit for 2020 through 2023 and 2025 Highlanders. Many Amazon listings stop at 2025 simply because they were written before the 2026 model year. The Snailfly listing already names 2026. If you own a 2026 and prefer another set, ask the seller whether the rails are unchanged. And whatever the year, never buy a Grand Highlander part by mistake. It shares a platform but not a roof, so its bars and fit kits are different parts. Per Wikipedia, Toyota dropped the L for 2024 and the LE for 2026 and unveiled a fifth-generation Highlander on February 10, 2026, with sales set to start in late 2026; no bar here is listed for it.
Bar profile, locks and noise
Aero bars with a T-slot are quieter and take T-bolt boxes and bike mounts. Round or square bars need clamp-style carriers and make more noise. Thule's WingBar Evo uses split rubber strips in the channel to reduce vibration, according to etrailer. On Amazon sets, check the bar profile in the photos, since titles rarely say. Locks are the other difference: only the 260 lb set lists anti-theft locks, so bars left on a car in public lots are a target. On the other sets, removing the bars between trips solves both the theft and the fuel problem.
| Feature | Look for | Avoid |
|---|---|---|
| Fitment | 2020–2026 Highlander with your trim named (XLE, XSE, Limited, Platinum) | Grand Highlander listings, or no trim named |
| Roof type | Side-rail bars for railed trims; naked-roof systems for a bare roof | Side-rail bars on a bare roof |
| Load rating | Stated rating; check against the owner's manual | No number, or a rating treated as the roof limit |
| Bar profile | Aero bar with a T-slot for boxes and bikes | Bars with no stated carrier compatibility |
| Security | Anti-theft locks if the bars stay on | Exposed bolts on bars left on all year |
| Warranty | Stated warranty; Thule and Yakima give limited lifetime | No warranty stated |
Cross bar options on the 2020–2026 Highlander
| Type | Price | Load rating | Mount | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon side-rail bars (four budget sets) | About $80–$140 | 220–260 lb listed (where stated) | To the factory side rails; attachment method not confirmed, see listing photos | Most owners, occasional use |
| BRIGHTLINES OEM-style bars | $145.99 (ASG Auto Sports) | 154 lb evenly distributed | Preset holes in the factory rails | Factory look for less |
| Toyota genuine PT767-48200 | Dealer price; confirm | 165 lb (Canadian Toyota dealer listing) | Bolts to the factory rails | Factory fit, dealer install |
| Thule WingBar Evo | $704.85 (etrailer) | 165 lb | Evo Fixpoint feet + kit TH22RE | Owners who want a documented system and lifetime warranty |
| Yakima SkyLine + JetStream | $694.85 (etrailer) | 165 lb | SkyLine towers into the rails' fixed points | Yakima accessory owners |
| Naked-roof system (bare roof) | $604.75–$773.75 (Yakima BaseLine, etrailer) | Per system | Clips to the door jambs | Highlanders without rails |
| Hitch carrier (instead of roof) | Separate hitch category | Per hitch | 2 in receiver, dealer-fitted or added | Bikes, fuel-conscious trips |
#1: Snailfly Cross Bars — Best overall (Amazon)

Snailfly Cross Bars, 2020-2026 Highlander XLE/XSE/Limited/Platinum (side rails)
Listed for this truckSide-rail trims; check load rating on listing.- Listing covers 2020–2026, including the newest model year
- Names XLE, XSE, Limited and Platinum
- Sold for the factory side rails; check the foot in the listing photos
- Listing is specific to side-rail trims, not a universal fit
- Price is a fraction of a Thule or Yakima system
- No load rating in the title; check the listing
- No lock mentioned
- Not for bare-roof Highlanders
Snailfly's set is the best starting point because its listing is the most complete for this generation. It covers 2020 through 2026, so it includes the newest model year that several other listings stop short of. It also names the trims with factory side rails: XLE, XSE, Limited and Platinum. The title says "(Models with Side Rails)". We could not confirm from a page we could open how the feet attach, and etrailer classes this Highlander's rails as flush with fixed mounting points, so compare the foot in the listing photos with your rail before ordering. At about $90–$130 the set costs a fraction of the roughly $700 Thule and Yakima systems etrailer lists.
What the title doesn't give you is a load rating or a lock. Read the listing for the stated capacity, and remember that the roof and rails have their own limit, which you'll find in the owner's manual. If your Highlander is an L or LE, look at the roof first, because none of the listings here name those trims. The Snailfly listing is a good fit for most owners who carry a box, bikes or skis a few times a year. If you leave bars on all year in public parking, the lockable 260 lb set is the better choice.
Who it's for: Owners of a railed Highlander, including 2026 models, who want the clearest listing fit at a low price.
| Spec | Value |
|---|---|
| Type | Side-rail cross bars |
| Fits | 2020–2026 Highlander XLE/XSE/Limited/Platinum (per listing) |
| Roof | Factory side rails |
| Load rating | Not in title; check listing |
| Lock | Not stated |
| Mount | To the factory side rails; attachment method not confirmed, see listing photos |
| Price band | About $90–$130 |
#2: Toyota Genuine Roof Rack Cross Bars PT767-48200 — Best factory fit (Toyota OEM)

Toyota Genuine Roof Rack Cross Bars PT767-48200, 2020-2025 Highlander XLE/Limited/Platinum
Confirm fit on listingOEM part PT767-48200; Toyota lists XLE/Limited/Platinum — confirm XSE/Hybrid by VIN.- Genuine Toyota accessory, part PT767-48200
- Toyota says it mounts directly to the roof rails with included screws
- Contoured footings Toyota lists as compatible with panoramic roofs
- 165 lb (75 kg) evenly distributed per a Canadian Toyota dealer's parts store
- 12-month Toyota accessory warranty
- Toyota's US page lists XLE, Limited and Platinum only; confirm XSE and Hybrid by VIN
- No lock mentioned
- Priced well above the aftermarket sets
Toyota's own cross bars, part PT767-48200, are the factory answer for a railed 4th-gen Highlander. Toyota's US parts site describes them as bars that mount directly to the roof rails, with aerodynamic styling and contoured footings compatible with panoramic roofs, and lists the XLE, Limited and Platinum as the trims. Dealer parts catalogs list the same part number for the 2020–2025 Highlander. Toyota Customs, the parts department of a Toyota dealer in Edmonton, Canada, sells the Highlander and Hybrid bars under PT767-48200 and PT767-48201 and gives the rating: 75 kg, or 165 lb, evenly distributed across both bars. That is the same figure etrailer lists for the Thule and Yakima systems.
What you are paying for is the fit. The bars bolt to the rails' preset points with the supplied screws, so nothing slides or needs centering, and the dealer can install them under Toyota's 12-month service warranty; installed elsewhere, the parts-only warranty is also 12 months. Toyota's page says to see the owner's manual for weight limits and mentions no lock, so bars left on in public lots are as exposed as the unlocked aftermarket sets. Toyota's US page doesn't name the XSE or the Hybrid, even though the aftermarket listings group them with the other railed trims, so have the dealer check your VIN. The Amazon title is a short part-number listing; match PT767-48200 before you buy.
Who it's for: XLE, Limited and Platinum owners who want dealer-backed bars that match the factory look.
| Spec | Value |
|---|---|
| Part number | PT767-48200 (Toyota) |
| Fits | 2020–2025 Highlander per dealer catalogs; XLE, Limited, Platinum per Toyota |
| Mount | Directly to factory roof rails with included screws |
| Load rating | 165 lb (75 kg) evenly distributed, per Toyota Customs (Canadian Toyota dealer) |
| Panoramic roof | Compatible footings (Toyota) |
| Lock | Not mentioned |
| Warranty | 12 months (Toyota) |
#3: 260 lb Lockable Cross Bars — Best lockable

260 lb Lockable Cross Bars, 2020-2025 Highlander XLE/Limited/Platinum
Confirm fit on listingAnti-theft locks; confirm XSE and 2026 with seller.- Anti-theft locks
- 260 lb stated rating, the highest here
- Names XLE, Limited and Platinum
- Listed for the factory side rails
- Costs about the same as unlocked sets
- Listing stops at 2025
- XSE not named in the title; confirm
- 260 lb is a bar rating, not a roof rating
If the bars will stay on the car, locks matter more than anything else, and this is the only set here that lists them. It also has the highest stated rating on this page, at 260 lb, and names the XLE, Limited and Platinum trims. At about $100–$140, the locks cost you very little over an unlocked set, and they make the bars harder to remove in a parking lot.
Keep the 260 lb in context. It describes the bars, not the Highlander's roof or rails, so your real limit is whichever is lowest. Check the owner's manual before you load up a cargo box. The title stops at 2025 and doesn't name the XSE, so owners of a 2026 or an XSE should ask the seller before ordering. The XSE has factory side rails according to the Snailfly and HEKA listings, and Toyota's 2021 release lists black roof rails on the XSE, so fit is likely, but get it in writing. We could not confirm how this set's feet attach, so before you order, compare the mount photos on the listing with your rails, and check the return terms in case the fit is off.
Who it's for: Owners who leave bars on year-round and park in public lots.
| Spec | Value |
|---|---|
| Type | Side-rail cross bars, lockable |
| Fits | 2020–2025 Highlander XLE/Limited/Platinum (per listing) |
| Roof | Factory side rails |
| Bar rating | 260 lb (per listing) |
| Lock | Anti-theft locks |
| Mount | To the factory side rails; attachment method not confirmed, see listing photos |
| Price band | About $100–$140 |
#4: BRIGHTLINES Crossbars Replacement — Best OEM-style aftermarket

BRIGHTLINES Crossbars Replacement, 2020-2025 Highlander XLE/XSE/Limited/Platinum/Hybrid with flush side rails
Confirm fit on listingBolts to factory rail mounting holes; confirm 2026 with seller.- Title names XLE, XSE, Limited, Platinum and Hybrid with the factory rails
- Mounts to the rails' preset mounting holes, no drilling
- 154 lb rating when evenly distributed, per ASG Auto Sports
- Aluminum aero bars sold as a factory-bar replacement
- One-year warranty with tech support
- No lock mentioned
- Amazon title stops at 2025 while the retailer page says 2020–2026; confirm a 2026
- 154 lb is slightly below the 165 lb listed for Toyota's, Thule's and Yakima's bars
BRIGHTLINES builds this set as a replacement for Toyota's factory bars, and it attaches the same way: to the preset mounting holes in the Highlander's side rails, with no drilling. That is the approach Toyota's bars, Thule's Evo Fixpoint and Yakima's SkyLine take, and it means the bars sit at fixed positions rather than sliding. The Amazon title names the XLE, XSE, Limited, Platinum and Hybrid with flush side rails for 2020–2025, which covers the same railed trims as the Snailfly and HEKA listings; the title's "flush" is the same factory rail etrailer describes as flush with fixed points.
ASG Auto Sports, which sells BRIGHTLINES racks, lists the Highlander set at $145.99, with high-grade aluminum bars, an aero shape meant to keep wind noise down, a 154 lb rating when the load is evenly spread and a one-year manufacturer warranty with tech support. It lists the fit as 2020–2026; the Amazon title stops at 2025, so ask the seller if you own a 2026. Neither page mentions locks. Compared with Toyota's PT767-48200, you give up the dealer install and a few pounds of rating, and you usually pay much less than dealer pricing. Compared with the four budget sets, you get a stated fixed-point mount and a one-year warranty in writing.
Who it's for: Railed-trim owners who want a factory-style fixed-point bar without dealer pricing.
| Spec | Value |
|---|---|
| Type | Aero aluminum crossbars, OEM-style replacement |
| Fits | 2020–2025 Highlander XLE/XSE/Limited/Platinum/Hybrid (per title) |
| Mount | Preset mounting holes in the factory rails |
| Load rating | 154 lb evenly distributed (ASG Auto Sports) |
| Lock | Not mentioned |
| Price seen | $145.99 (ASG Auto Sports) |
| Warranty | 1 year |
#5: Richeer 220 lb Cross Bars — Best stated rating for the price

Richeer 220 lb Cross Bars, 2020-2025 Highlander with raised side rails
Confirm fit on listingSeller says raised side rails; etrailer classes the factory rails as flush. Confirm the mount on the listing.- 220 lb stated rating
- Title covers 2020–2025 and names the railed trims and the Hybrid
- Among the cheapest sets here
- Listed for the factory side rails
- Simple fit rule: rails or no rails
- No lock mentioned
- Listing stops at 2025
- Title says "Raised Side Rails"; etrailer classes the factory rails as flush, so check the mount photos
Richeer's title describes the fit by the rail: a 2020–2025 Highlander "with Raised Side Rails". The full Amazon title also names the XLE, XSE, Limited, Platinum and Hybrid. Asking about rails is right, because the rails, not the trim badge, decide whether side-rail bars will fit. One caution: etrailer classes this Highlander's factory rails as flush-mounted, so "raised" is the seller's wording, and we could not confirm how the foot attaches. Compare the foot in the listing photos with your rail before ordering. The listing gives a 220 lb rating, which is a useful number to have at about $80–$120, one of the lowest prices on this page.
The trade-offs are the ones you'd expect at this price. The title mentions no lock, and it stops at 2025, so 2026 owners should confirm with the seller. As with every set here, 220 lb is the bars' rating. Check your owner's manual for the roof and rail limit, and count the bars and any box against it. If you mostly carry light gear, such as skis or a kayak a few times a year, this is a sensible budget choice. Look at the bar profile in the listing photos too: if you plan on a T-bolt cargo box, you need a T-slot on top.
Who it's for: Budget buyers with railed Highlanders who want a stated load rating.
| Spec | Value |
|---|---|
| Type | Side-rail cross bars |
| Fits | 2020–2025 Highlander "with Raised Side Rails" (seller's wording) |
| Roof | Factory side rails |
| Bar rating | 220 lb (per listing) |
| Lock | Not stated |
| Mount | To the factory side rails; attachment method not confirmed, see listing photos |
| Price band | About $80–$120 |
#6: HEKA Cross Bars — Best for Hybrid owners

HEKA Cross Bars, 2020-2025 Highlander XLE/XSE/Limited/Platinum/Hybrid (factory side rails)
Listed for this truckTrims with factory side rails; names Hybrid.- Names the Hybrid as well as XLE, XSE, Limited and Platinum
- Listed for trims with factory side rails
- Low price
- HEKA sells a separate set for L and LE models without side rails
- Clear trim list
- No load rating in the title
- No lock mentioned
- Listing stops at 2025
HEKA's listing is the one that removes doubt for Hybrid owners. It names the Hybrid alongside the XLE, XSE, Limited and Platinum trims with factory side rails. None of the crossbar listings here excludes the Hybrid, so a railed Hybrid should take the same bars. Still, seeing it in the title saves a question to the seller. The bars are sold for those factory side rails. We could not confirm how the feet attach, so compare the listing photos with your rail. HEKA also sells a separate set for the L and LE, titled "Model without Factory Side Rails", so make sure you order the side-rail version. The price is about $80–$120.
The title doesn't give a load rating or mention locks, so read the listing for both. Check the owner's manual for the roof and rail limit, and remember that the bars and any box count toward it. The listing covers 2020–2025, so 2026 owners should confirm with the seller. On a Hybrid, fuel economy is likely a reason you bought the car, so take the bars off when you don't need them: fueleconomy.gov's figures for rooftop boxes run as high as 25% at interstate speeds. Empty bars cost less, but they still cost something on every highway drive.
Who it's for: Highlander Hybrid owners who want a listing that names their car.
| Spec | Value |
|---|---|
| Type | Side-rail cross bars |
| Fits | 2020–2025 Highlander XLE/XSE/Limited/Platinum/Hybrid (per listing) |
| Roof | Factory side rails |
| Load rating | Not in title; check listing |
| Lock | Not stated |
| Mount | To the factory side rails; attachment method not confirmed, see listing photos |
| Price band | About $80–$120 |
How to install a roof rack on the Highlander
- Confirm your roof has factory side rails. On this Highlander they sit flush, with no gap underneath. If the roof is bare, stop: you need a naked-roof system, not side-rail bars.
- Clean the rails where the feet will sit so grit doesn't scratch the finish.
- Set the front bar first, then the rear, at the spread the instructions give. For carriers, check the spread they need before tightening.
- Center each bar side to side, then tighten each foot as the set's instructions show, alternating left and right.
- Fit any end caps and rubber strips, and set the locks if your set has them.
- Pull hard on each bar, then re-check the fasteners after the first highway drive and before each loaded trip.
What to avoid
Grand Highlander parts. The Grand Highlander is a larger 2024+ vehicle with its own roof. Buy bars that name the 2020–2026 Highlander.
Side-rail bars on a bare roof. Side-rail bars mount to the factory rails. Without rails they have nothing to hold, and a naked-roof system is the only safe choice.
Treating the bar rating as the roof rating. A 260 lb bar doesn't mean the roof can carry 260 lb. Check the owner's manual and use the lowest figure.
Leaving bars on all year. Empty bars still cost fuel. LBNL found empty racks were the biggest single factor in fuel wasted by roof racks.
Bed, roof, hitch and interior, filtered to the 2020–2026 Toyota Highlander.
Open the Highlander fit hub → See the Highlander upgrade plan →Frequently asked questions
What are the best cross bars for a 2020+ Toyota Highlander?
On Amazon, the Snailfly set is the best all-round pick because its listing covers 2020–2026 and names the trims with factory side rails: XLE, XSE, Limited and Platinum. If you want a stated load rating, the lockable 260 lb set or the Richeer 220 lb bars list one. If you want a fully documented system, etrailer lists the Thule WingBar Evo (165 lb, limited lifetime warranty) at $704.85, bought from a rack dealer rather than Amazon.
Does my Highlander have roof rails?
Look along the edges of the roof. The factory side rails sit flush on the roof with no gap underneath; etrailer classes them as flush-mounted rails that run front to back. The Amazon listings here name the XLE, XSE, Limited and Platinum, and the Hybrid versions of those trims, as having factory side rails. We couldn't confirm the rail situation on every L and LE, and etrailer lists naked-roof racks for the 2023 Highlander as well as rail-mounted ones, which suggests some Highlanders leave the factory bare. HEKA sells a separate set whose Amazon title names the L, LE and Hybrid LE as the "Model without Factory Side Rails". If your roof is bare, side-rail bars will not fit.
Do Highlander cross bars fit the Grand Highlander?
No. The Grand Highlander, introduced in 2023 for the 2024 model year, shares the GA-K platform but is a larger vehicle with its own body and roof. Buy bars that name the 2020–2026 Highlander, not the Grand Highlander, and don't trust a listing that lumps the two together. The badge on the tailgate tells you which one you have. If a seller can't say which model their bars were made for, choose a different set.
Do 2020–2022 and 2023+ Highlanders take the same bars?
The 2023 update swapped the 3.5 L V6 for the 2.4 L turbo four; the body stayed in the same generation. etrailer lists the same Thule fit kit (TH22RE) for 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023 and 2025 Highlanders. On Amazon, several listings stop at 2025, so if you own a 2026, choose a listing that names 2026, like the Snailfly set, or ask the seller.
How much weight can the Highlander roof carry?
Plan around 165 lb unless your owner's manual gives a different figure. That number is a crossbar and rack-system rating, not a Toyota roof figure. Toyota Customs, the parts department of a Toyota dealer in Edmonton, Canada, lists 75 kg (165 lb), evenly distributed, for Toyota's own bars, and etrailer lists 165 lb for the Thule WingBar Evo and Yakima SkyLine systems. We could not confirm a separate roof figure from a Toyota document, so the owner's manual is the authority. The Richeer set lists 220 lb and the lockable set 260 lb; those are sellers' bar ratings. The lowest of the roof, rail and bar figures is your real limit, and it includes the bars and any box.
Budget Amazon bars or a Thule/Yakima fixed-point system?
etrailer's fit data classes the Highlander's factory rails as flush-mounted rails with fixed mounting points. Thule's Evo Fixpoint feet and Yakima's SkyLine towers bolt into those points. The four budget Amazon sets are sold for the factory side rails, but we could not confirm from a page we could open how their feet attach, so check the foot in each listing's photos against your rail. Fixed-point systems cost about $695–$705 complete and come with a lifetime warranty. The budget sets cost about $80–$140 but publish far less.
Will a cargo box or bars hurt my Highlander's fuel economy?
Yes. fueleconomy.gov says a rooftop cargo box lowers fuel economy by 2–8% in the city, 6–17% on the highway and 10–25% at 65–75 mph, while rear-mounted carriers cost 1–5% on the highway. Empty bars cost less but still add drag. Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory found racks left on with nothing on them were the biggest single factor in fuel wasted by roof racks.
Does the Highlander Hybrid take the same cross bars?
Yes, going by the listings. None of the crossbar listings here excludes the Hybrid, and the HEKA and BRIGHTLINES titles name it directly. What matters is whether your roof has side rails, not the powertrain. Wikipedia notes the Hybrid is offered on most trims except the L and XSE. One part to check: Toyota's US parts page for its own bars doesn't name the Hybrid, so have a dealer confirm that part by VIN.
Can I carry a kayak or bikes on Highlander cross bars?
Yes, within the lowest applicable rating. A kayak carrier or bike mount clamps to the bars, so check the carrier's bar-shape compatibility: aero bars with a T-slot take T-bolt carriers, and round or square bars take clamp-style carriers. For bikes, a hitch rack on a 2 in receiver, dealer-fitted or added, is a practical alternative that costs less fuel.
Are the Amazon cross bars lockable?
Only some. The generic 260 lb set lists anti-theft locks. The HEKA, Richeer and Snailfly titles don't mention locks, so check each listing. Bars left on the car in a public lot are easy to remove without locks, so if you leave them on, choose the lockable set or add locks where the design allows. Thule's WingBar Evo system takes optional lock cylinders (TH450400), according to etrailer.
Check for rails, then buy the Snailfly set for the clearest 2020–2026 fit, the lockable 260 lb set if the bars stay on, Toyota's PT767-48200 or BRIGHTLINES' replacement for a factory look, or a Thule or Yakima fixed-point system if you want a lifetime warranty.
On the Highlander, the rails decide everything. If your roof has them, the Amazon sets fit for about $80–$140. Snailfly's listing covers the most years and trims, the lockable 260 lb set is the one to leave on the car, Richeer gives a stated 220 lb rating for the least money, and HEKA names the Hybrid. Toyota's genuine bars and BRIGHTLINES' OEM-style replacement bolt to the rails' preset points, with 165 lb and 154 lb ratings. We could not confirm how the four budget sets attach, so check their listing photos against your rail. If you want a documented system with a lifetime warranty, etrailer's Thule and Yakima fixed-point kits cost about $700. If your roof is bare, skip side-rail bars entirely.
Once the bars are on, a cargo box is the usual next step, and a Class III trailer hitch, dealer-fitted or added, gives you a bike-rack option that costs less fuel. All-weather floor mats protect the three rows inside. The vehicle hub lists every fit-checked accessory for the Highlander.
How we chose
We did not install these bars ourselves. We ranked them on stated fitment (years and trims named in the listing), published load ratings, locks and price, and compared them with the Thule and Yakima systems etrailer lists for the 2020–2025 Highlander. Prices for Thule and Yakima were checked at etrailer in September 2026. Amazon prices move daily, so the button shows the live price.
Sources- Thule WingBar Evo for Highlander flush rails, TH28YG (etrailer)
- Thule Evo Fixpoint fit kit 7100, TH22RE (etrailer)
- Yakima SkyLine with JetStream bars, Y94HB (etrailer)
- 2023 Toyota Highlander roof rack systems (etrailer)
- Toyota Roof Rack Cross Bars PT767-48200 (Toyota Parts)
- Roof Rack Cross Bars 2020–2025 Highlander/Hybrid, 165 lb rating (Toyota Customs, parts department of Toyota Northwest Edmonton, Canada)
- Thule crossbar kit for 2020–2026 Highlander with flush rails (The Rack Shop)
- BRIGHTLINES crossbars for 2020–2026 Highlander (ASG Auto Sports)
- Toyota Highlander, 4th generation XU70 (Wikipedia)
- Toyota Highlander adds XSE grade for 2021: black roof rails on the XSE (Toyota USA Newsroom)
- HEKA cross bars for Highlander L and LE, "Model without Factory Side Rails" (Amazon listing title, read in search results)
- Cargo box and rear carrier fuel economy impact (fueleconomy.gov)
- Fuel consumption impacts of auto roof racks (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)
Related guides
All roof racks & crossbars guides by vehicle → · Everything that fits the 2020–2026 Toyota Highlander →