Roof Rail Types Explained: Bare, Raised, Flush, Fixed Points and Tracks
A roof rack is bought for a roof, not a badge. Bare roofs, raised rails, flush rails, fixed points, tracks, gutters and removable tops each take a different foot, and trims of the same model often ship with different roofs. Here is how to tell which one you have, what it needs, and how much it can carry.
- Look for the gap. Daylight under the rail means raised rails; a rail sealed to the roof is a flush rail; no rail at all is a bare roof.
- The roof type picks the foot. Thule sells a different Evo foot for bare roofs, raised rails, flush rails and fixed points, and Yakima does the same with BaseLine, TimberLine and SightLine.
- Raised rails are the cheap fit. They usually need no vehicle-specific kit. Flush rails, fixed points and bare roofs all do.
- Dynamic load is the limit on the road. Figures in the site's guides run from 110 lb on the Bronco to 220 lb on the Forester Wilderness, and the rack's own weight comes out of that number.
- Trims change the roof. RAV4 LE, Telluride X-Line, Subaru Wilderness and 4Runner TRD Pro all differ from the standard version of the same model.
Side-by-side
| Roof type | How to tell | How the rack attaches | Vehicle-specific kit? | Crossbar spread | Maker terms |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bare (naked) roof | Smooth roof, nothing to grab | Feet sit on the roof edge and clamp into the door jambs | Yes: clips and pads per vehicle | Set by the kit | Thule Evo Clamp 710501; Yakima BaseLine + BaseClips |
| Raised side rails | Rail on end posts; a hand slides under it | Foot wraps or clamps around the rail | Usually not | You choose: feet slide along the rail | Thule Evo Raised Rail 710405; Yakima TimberLine |
| Flush side rails | Rail sealed to the roof, no gap | Foot grips the rail from the sides | Yes | Adjustable unless the kit uses fixed points in the rail | Thule Evo Flush Rail 710601; Yakima SightLine |
| Fixed points | Four hidden points under covers or roof trim | Foot bolts to the point | Yes | Fixed by the car | Thule Evo Fixpoint 710701; Yakima SkyLine (etrailer) |
| Factory crossbars | Bars already across the roof | Carriers clamp to the factory bar | No, but check bar shape and width | Fixed by the sockets or mounts | Bar profile: square, round, aero or factory shape |
| Tracks | Rail sealed to the roof with a groove down the center | Vehicle-specific mounting kit in the track | Yes | Along the track | Rack Warehouse: factory tracks |
| Rain gutters | A lip along the outer roof edge | Gutter feet clamp to the lip | Check the maker's guide | Along the gutter | Thule Rapid gutter low 300101 / high 387101 |
| Removable top | Hardtop panels or a soft top | Rack bolts to hardtop points or gutters, or bridges a soft top | Yes: by top and door count | Set by the rack | Wrangler, Bronco, Gladiator |
How to tell which roof you have in two minutes
Do this before you open a single listing. It rules out most of what you'll see.
1. Look along the roof edge from the side. If a rail runs front to back and you can see daylight under it, you have raised rails. Yakima's catalogue puts it simply: there is enough of a gap that you could slide your hand underneath. 2. No gap? A rail that is sealed to the roof along its whole length is a flush rail. Yakima's wording is that you cannot slide your hand underneath. 3. No rail at all? Check the roof trim for four small flaps or covers. Rack Warehouse describes fixed points as pre-determined mounting locations, often threaded holes found under tabs. If you find them, you have fixed points. 4. Nothing anywhere? That is a bare roof, which Yakima defines as a roof with no designated attachment points. 5. Check for the less common types. A rail with a groove cut down the center is a track. A curved lip along the outer edge of the roof is a rain gutter. 6. Note what else is up there. Factory crossbars, a factory basket or platform, a panoramic roof, and on a Jeep or Bronco, which top and how many doors.
Then match the result against the listing, not the other way round. A fit catalog often doesn't know your trim. etrailer's Telluride lists show both raised- and flush-rail systems for every year, because the car came with both and only you can see which is on yours.
Bare roof: door-jamb clips
A bare roof has nothing to clamp to, so the rack makes its own anchor. The feet sit at the roof edge and hook into the door opening with clips. Rack Warehouse describes these systems as clamping into the door jamb. Thule's foot for the job is the Evo Clamp, which its site describes as roof rack feet for cars without roof attachment points. Yakima's is the BaseLine, which uses vehicle-specific BaseClips.
Three things follow from that design. First, the clips and pads are cut for one body, so the fit kit has to match your make, model and year. Second, the kit decides where the bars go, so the spread is not yours to choose. The site's cargo box guide for the 2023–2026 Honda CR-V, a bare-roof car, tells buyers to pick a box with a wide spread range for that reason. Third, it costs more than rail bars. etrailer listed Yakima BaseLine systems at $604.75 to $773.75 for the Explorer and Highlander, and Thule's bare-roof WingBar Evo kit at $704.85 for the RAV4 LE.
In the site's data the bare-roof cars are the CR-V, the RAV4 LE, the Honda Pilot LX and EX-L, and every pickup cab. Some bare-roof cars can take dealer accessory rails instead: Honda sells low-profile rails for the CR-V, and bars for those are flush-rail kits.
Raised side rails: the simple fit
Raised rails stand off the roof on end posts. The foot wraps under the rail or clamps around it, and Rack Warehouse describes both methods. Because the rail is a simple bar shape, the foot doesn't need a vehicle-specific kit. The site's Explorer guide makes the point directly: raised-rail racks cost less than flush-rail systems for that reason.
Thule's foot is the Evo Raised Rail (710405 on Thule's site), and Yakima's is the TimberLine. etrailer's 2023 Ford Explorer list had 25 raised-rail systems from Malone, Yakima, Thule, Rhino-Rack and Inno. Prices the site's guides saw on etrailer ran from $245.60 for a Malone AirFlow2 to $444.90 to $579.90 for Thule SquareBar and WingBar Evo systems. Budget clamp-on bars on Amazon cost roughly $80 to $150.
The other advantage is spread. The feet slide along the rail, so you set the distance between bars to suit the box or tent. The rear limit is where the rail curves down toward the liftgate. What varies between products is the clamp: rubber-lined jaws protect the rail's finish better than bare metal.
Raised rails in the site's data: both 4Runner generations, the RAV4 XLE and up, the Explorer, the Forester and Outback, the Sequoia, the Pilot's railed trims and the Telluride X-Line and X-Pro.
Flush side rails, and the flush-bar trap
A flush rail is attached to the roof along its whole length. There is no opening to wrap a strap through, so raised-rail feet have nothing to grip. The foot clamps the rail from the sides instead, and it needs a kit shaped to that rail. Thule's foot is the Evo Flush Rail (710601), which its site describes as feet for vehicles with flush railings, and Yakima's is the SightLine.
The site's guides show what that looks like in practice. The 2020–2025 Hyundai Palisade takes Thule's Evo Flush Rail foot with fit kit 6008 and 50 in bars. The Kia Telluride's standard trims take kit 6095. The 2022–2026 Jeep Grand Cherokee is flush-rail too, but Yakima and Rhino-Rack mount at fixed points inside the rails, while Thule clamps the rail. Budget bars for flush rails clamp the rail from the side, and a few bolt into existing holes in it.
Watch the word flush. A flush rail is a roof type. A flush bar is a crossbar that ends at the feet with no overhang, such as Thule's WingBar Edge. Flush bars are sold for raised rails as well, so a listing that says flush may be describing the bar. etrailer also shows the WingBar Edge as not fitting the 2022 Palisade, even though that car has flush rails. The fit guide for your car decides, not the name.
Fixed points: the car sets the position
Fixed points are threaded mounts built into the roof and hidden under small covers, flaps or a strip of trim. Yakima's catalogue describes them as four hidden attachment points that are usually disguised by a cover or plastic door. The foot bolts straight to the point. Thule's version is the Evo Fixpoint (710701), sold on its site as feet for fixed mounting points, and etrailer lists Yakima's SkyLine towers for the same job on the Highlander and Grand Cherokee.
The Tesla Model 3 and Model Y are the clearest examples in the site's guides. Both have glass roofs with no rails. The feet sit on the body at the fixed points, and nothing rests on the glass. Keep the trim covers you remove, because they seal the points when the rack is off.
Fixed points give a strong, repeatable fit, and they take away one choice: spread. etrailer's experts cite about 28 in on the Model 3 and about 35.5 in on the Model Y's factory rack. The same applies when fixed points sit inside a rail. etrailer lists the Rhino-Rack Vortex on the 2023 Grand Cherokee at about 24.5 in, not adjustable, and one Thule Fixpoint kit for the Highlander tops out at 31 in. Check a box's spread range before you buy bars for a fixed-point car.
Factory crossbars, tracks and rain gutters
Factory crossbars sit on top of one of the roof types above, and for light loads they may be all you need. Most 2010–2024 4Runners have factory bars on their raised rails. Standard 2020–2025 Outbacks have swing-in bars that stow inside the rails. Tesla and Toyota sell their own bars, each rated at 165 lb on the Model Y and the Highlander. Whether an aftermarket carrier fits depends on the bar's profile, which can be square, round, aero or a factory shape, so check the carrier's compatibility list. The usual reasons to replace factory bars are width, T-slot accessories, a lock or a quieter shape.
Tracks are rails with a slot. Rack Warehouse describes them as a pronounced rail running front to back, sealed to the roof, with a groove cut down the center, and says they take vehicle-specific mounting kits. The detail can matter down to the trim. Inno lists two kits for the 2023 Grand Cherokee, split by the finish of the channel along the top of the rail.
Rain gutters are the oldest mount. Yakima describes them as two parallel gutters that protrude from either side of the vehicle and create a secure attachment point. Thule sells Rapid gutter feet in low (300101) and high (387101) versions. In the site's guides, gutters appear on the Bronco hardtop, where one platform maker lists hardtop points or rain gutters as its mount.
Where a roof has no mounting point at all, some makers add one. Rhino-Rack's fitting-kit page lists an RCP Fixed Mount Base Kit that it says is permanently riveted to your roof and acts as a mounting point. That is a drilled, permanent install, so treat it as a last resort.
Removable tops: Wrangler, Bronco and Gladiator
A removable top changes the question from which rail to which top. The site's data lists the Jeep Wrangler JL, the Jeep Gladiator and the 2021–2026 Ford Bronco as removable-roof vehicles.
On the Bronco, the site's guide splits racks by top and door count. Crossbar kits and platforms bolt to the hardtop's attachment points, full platforms are sized for either the 2-door or the 4-door hardtop, and a soft top needs a rack that bridges the fabric. A body-color painted hardtop is a separate question to ask the seller. A platform bolted across the front panels also stops you lifting them out, which is why half racks that cover only the rear section are popular.
The site's data describes Wrangler racks as bolting to the hardtop or using a cage-style rack. For the Gladiator it is blunter: no roof racks, use a bed rack.
Weight is the other constraint. Bronco owners on Bronco6G quote Ford's figures as 110 lb dynamic and 450 lb static. Racks in the site's Bronco guide weigh from about 31 lb to about 67 lb, so the rack can use more than half the driving limit before anything is loaded.
Feet, bars and fit kits: what you are actually buying
A brand-name rack is three parts, and the roof type decides the first and third.
- The foot. Thule calls it a foot, and retailers list Yakima's as towers. It is chosen by roof type. Thule's current range on its own site is the Evo Clamp (710501) for cars without attachment points, Evo Raised Rail (710405), Evo Flush Rail (710601) and Evo Fixpoint (710701), plus Rapid gutter feet. Yakima's catalogue pairs BaseLine with naked roofs, TimberLine with raised rails and SightLine with flush rails.
- The crossbar. Bars are chosen by length and profile. The site's guides saw 47 in Thule bars on the Grand Cherokee, 50 in on the Palisade, 53 in on the Telluride and 60 in on the Explorer. Aero bars with a rubber strip in the top channel are quieter than square or round bars.
- The fit kit. This is the vehicle-specific piece: clips for a door jamb, pads for a flush rail, brackets for a fixed point. Yakima's catalogue lists vehicle-specific BaseClips, SightClips and Landing Pads. Raised-rail feet usually skip this part.
Rhino-Rack organizes its range the same way. Its fitting-kit page lists RLT600 rubber bases, a 2500 ditch mount bracket and Quick Mount brackets, and etrailer lists its Vortex bars for fixed points and its Pioneer platform for raised and flush rails. On the 5th-gen 4Runner, Rhino-Rack's modular tray sits on a vehicle-specific Backbone.
Budget bars sold for one model fold all three parts into one box. That is fine when the listing names your trim and rail type, and a gamble when it only names the model.
Dynamic vs static roof load
Two numbers describe what a roof can carry. The dynamic limit applies while driving and covers the feet, bars, carrier and cargo together. The static limit applies when parked and is much higher, because the roof isn't dealing with braking, cornering and bumps.
Three rules keep you out of trouble:
- The lowest number wins. The roof limit, the rack rating and the carrier rating all apply. Brand-name systems on etrailer's lists are mostly rated at 165 lb, and Yakima's European catalogue lists its StreamLine system at 75 kg per pair. Budget bars print 220 to 330 lb. A stronger bar flexes less; it doesn't raise the roof's limit.
- Subtract the rack first. A Malone AirFlow2 system weighs 13 lb. A Front Runner 3/4 platform for the 4Runner weighs about 59 lb, which is roughly half of the 120 lb figure Trail4Runner quotes from the 2016 owner's manual.
- Static is for tents. A rooftop tent must fit inside the dynamic limit on the road. The static figure then covers the people in it.
Not every maker publishes a figure where the site's guides could find one, and several of the numbers below come from owners quoting documentation. Read your own manual, because limits can differ by year.
| Vehicle | Dynamic (driving) | Static (parked) | Where the figure comes from |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021–2026 Ford Bronco | 110 lb | 450 lb | Owners on Bronco6G citing Ford's guide |
| 2010–2024 Toyota 4Runner | 120 lb | Not stated | 2016 owner's manual, as quoted by Trail4Runner |
| 2017–2026 Tesla Model 3 | 150 lb | 495 lb | Tesla's rating for its own rack |
| 2020–2026 Tesla Model Y | 165 lb | Not stated | Tesla's rating for its own rack |
| 2019–2025 Toyota RAV4 | 165 lb | Not stated | Site data; some references quote 176 lb |
| 2025–2026 Toyota 4Runner | 165 lb | 770 lb | Owners on 4Runner6G; unconfirmed in site data |
| 2020–2025 Subaru Outback | 176 lb in site data; 150–165 lb also quoted | 700 lb (Wilderness) | Site data, The Rack Shop, Subaru |
| 2019–2024 Subaru Forester | 176 lb (220 lb Wilderness) | 700 lb (800 lb Wilderness) | Site data and launch coverage |
| 2023–2026 Honda CR-V and Pilot | 165 lb on the rails | Not stated | Honda, via the site's cargo box guides |
Crossbar spread: the number box buyers forget
Spread is the distance between the front and rear bar, measured center to center. It matters because every carrier has a range. A cargo box's mounting hardware only reaches so far, tent makers give a minimum distance between bars, and kayaks ride steadier on wider-set bars.
How much control you have depends on the roof type:
- Raised rails: you choose. Feet slide along the rail. Malone lists a 24 in minimum for its AirFlow2.
- Flush rails: usually adjustable, within what the kit allows. etrailer gives about 32 in for the Palisade, and Thule's flush-rail system gives about 29.5 in on a 2023 Telluride.
- Fixed points: set by the car. About 28 in on the Model 3, about 35.5 in on the Model Y's factory rack, and about 24.5 in for the Vortex on the Grand Cherokee.
- Bare roof: set by the clamp kit.
- Factory crossbars: set by the sockets or mounts.
Box ranges in the site's cargo box guides show why this matters. A Yakima SkyBox 16 takes 24 to 34.5 in. A Yakima DeepSpace 10 needs 32 to 46 in, so it won't mount on a Highlander kit that tops out at 31 in. On any car with a fixed spread, read the box's range before you buy the bars. Then check the liftgate: a long box on a short spread hangs over the windshield or meets the open hatch.
Why trims of one model have different roofs
Roof hardware is a trim feature, like wheels. That is why a crossbar listing that names only the model is not enough. Patterns in the site's data:
- Base trims go bare. The RAV4 LE has a bare roof while the XLE and up have raised rails. The Pilot LX and EX-L are bare while the Sport, TrailSport, Touring and Elite have rails. Some Highlanders, possibly the L or LE, also leave the factory without rails.
- Off-road trims get their own rail. Subaru's Wilderness models use a ladder-type rail with higher ratings. The RAV4 Adventure and TRD Off-Road use a different rail profile. The Telluride X-Line and X-Pro have raised, bridge-type rails where other trims are flush.
- Top trims can come with a rack already fitted. Some 4Runner TRD Pro years have a basket instead of rails, and the 2025–2026 Trailhunter has an ARB platform. Rail-clamp bars have nothing to grip on either.
- Body length changes the parts. The Grand Cherokee L has a longer roof than the two-row. A 2-door Bronco hardtop is shorter than a 4-door. Tesla excludes the longer Model Y L from its rack.
- Refreshes split the aftermarket. Aftermarket makers sell separate racks for the Model 3 Highland and Model Y Juniper bodies, even though Tesla says its own rack fits across them.
Generations change everything. 5th-gen 4Runner racks don't fit the 2025–2026 4Runner, and 2020–2025 Palisade bars are not 2026 bars.
| Vehicle | Roof type in site data | Trim and body exceptions the guides found |
|---|---|---|
| 2010–2024 Toyota 4Runner | Raised rails | Many have factory crossbars; some TRD Pro years and special editions have a basket |
| 2025–2026 Toyota 4Runner | Raised rails | Trailhunter has a factory ARB platform; rail style by trim is unconfirmed in site data |
| 2019–2025 Toyota RAV4 | Raised rails | LE is bare; Adventure and TRD Off-Road use a different rail; etrailer lists flush rails for some 2021 cars |
| 2020–2026 Toyota Highlander | Flush rails with fixed points | Per etrailer; listed for XLE, XSE, Limited, Platinum and Hybrid. Some cars, possibly L or LE, are bare |
| 2023–2026 Toyota Sequoia | Raised rails | etrailer lists both raised and flush for 2023; TRD Pro has an optional factory rack |
| 2020–2026 Ford Explorer | Raised rails | None found; a car without rails needs a door-jamb system |
| 2021–2026 Chevy Tahoe | Flush rails | Per etrailer and The Rack Shop; Z71 takes its own fit kit |
| 2023–2026 Honda Pilot | Raised rails (railed trims) | LX and EX-L are bare |
| 2023–2026 Honda CR-V | Bare | Honda accessory rails take flush-rail kits |
| 2019–2024 Subaru Forester | Raised rails | Wilderness (2022–2024) has ladder-type rails |
| 2020–2025 Subaru Outback | Raised rails with swing-in crossbars | Wilderness (2022–2025) has a fixed ladder-type rack |
| 2022–2026 Jeep Grand Cherokee | Flush rails | L has a longer roof; Yakima and Rhino-Rack use fixed points in the rails |
| 2020–2025 Kia Telluride | Flush rails | X-Line and X-Pro (2023+) have raised, bridge-type rails |
| 2020–2025 Hyundai Palisade | Flush rails | Same rail across the trims sellers name |
| 2020–2026 Tesla Model Y | Fixed points (glass roof) | Juniper and Standard need their own aftermarket parts; Tesla excludes the Model Y L |
| 2017–2026 Tesla Model 3 | Fixed points (glass roof) | Highland (2024+) needs its own aftermarket parts |
| 2021–2026 Ford Bronco | Removable top | Hardtop or soft top, 2-door or 4-door; each takes a different rack |
| Jeep Wrangler JL (2018 on) | Removable top | Racks bolt to the hardtop or use a cage-style rack |
| 2020–2026 Jeep Gladiator | Removable top | Site data: no roof racks, use a bed rack |
| Pickups (F-150, Silverado, Sierra, Ram, Tundra, Tacoma and others) | Bare cab roof | Loads usually go on a bed rack |
Which one to buy
If you can slide a hand under the rail: You have raised rails. Buy raised-rail feet or clamp-on bars listed for your model and years. You usually won't need a fit kit, and you can set the spread to suit your box.
If the rail is sealed to the roof with no gap: You have flush rails. Buy flush-rail feet with the fit kit for your car, or bars sold for your flush-rail trim. Raised-rail clamps won't grip.
If the roof is smooth with small covers in the trim: You have fixed points. Buy a kit made for your car, and check the fixed spread against your cargo box before you order.
If the roof is completely bare: Buy a door-jamb clamp system with the clips for your body, or fit the maker's accessory rails first. Expect to pay more than rail owners do.
If you drive a Wrangler, Bronco or Gladiator: Shop by top and door count, not rail type. On the Gladiator, the site's data points you to a bed rack.
If you want a rooftop tent: Start with the dynamic limit in your owner's manual. The rack plus the tent must fit under it. Then check the static figure for sleepers.
Find the right one for your vehicle
Each guide lists only the parts sold for that generation, with its fit gotchas.
- 2021–2026 Ford Bronco roof racks & crossbars
- 2020–2026 Ford Explorer roof racks & crossbars
- 2020–2025 Hyundai Palisade roof racks & crossbars
- 2022–2026 Jeep Grand Cherokee roof racks & crossbars
- 2020–2025 Kia Telluride roof racks & crossbars
- 2019–2024 Subaru Forester roof racks & crossbars
- 2020–2025 Subaru Outback roof racks & crossbars
- 2017–2026 Tesla Model 3 roof racks & crossbars
- 2020–2026 Tesla Model Y roof racks & crossbars
- 2025–2026 Toyota 4Runner roof racks & crossbars
- 2010–2024 Toyota 4Runner roof racks & crossbars
- 2020–2026 Toyota Highlander roof racks & crossbars
- 2019–2025 Toyota RAV4 roof racks & crossbars
- 2021–2026 Chevrolet Tahoe cargo boxes
- 2020–2026 Ford Explorer cargo boxes
- 2023–2026 Honda CR-V cargo boxes
- 2023–2026 Honda Pilot cargo boxes
- 2020–2025 Hyundai Palisade cargo boxes
- 2022–2026 Jeep Grand Cherokee cargo boxes
- 2020–2025 Kia Telluride cargo boxes
- 2019–2024 Subaru Forester cargo boxes
- 2020–2025 Subaru Outback cargo boxes
- 2017–2026 Tesla Model 3 cargo boxes
- 2020–2026 Tesla Model Y cargo boxes
- 2025–2026 Toyota 4Runner cargo boxes
- 2010–2024 Toyota 4Runner cargo boxes
- 2020–2026 Toyota Highlander cargo boxes
- 2019–2025 Toyota RAV4 cargo boxes
- 2023–2026 Toyota Sequoia cargo boxes
What to avoid
Ordering by model name alone. Trims of one model ship with bare, raised or flush roofs. Read the trims and rail type in the listing and look at your own roof first.
Reading 'flush' as the rail when it means the bar. A flush bar is a crossbar with no overhang. A flush rail is a roof type. Listings use the word for both.
Treating the bar rating as the roof limit. A 300 lb crossbar on a roof with a 165 lb dynamic limit carries 165 lb, minus the weight of the bars and feet.
Buying the box before checking the spread. Fixed points and bare-roof kits set the bar spread. A box whose minimum is wider than that can't be mounted.
Frequently asked questions
How do I tell what type of roof rails I have?
Stand beside the car and look along the roof edge. A rail held up on posts with daylight under it is a raised rail; Yakima's test is whether you can slide your hand underneath. A rail sealed to the roof along its whole length is a flush rail. A smooth roof with nothing on it is a bare roof, which makers also call a naked roof. Four small covers or flaps in the roof trim mean fixed mounting points. A rail with a groove down the center is a track, and a lip along the roof edge is a rain gutter. If bars already cross the roof, you have factory crossbars on top of one of these.
What is the difference between raised rails and flush rails?
The gap. A raised rail stands off the roof on end posts, so a foot can wrap or clamp around it, and it usually needs no vehicle-specific kit. A flush rail is attached along its length with no opening underneath, so the foot has to grip the sides of the rail and needs a kit shaped for that car. The two are not interchangeable: Thule sells separate Evo Raised Rail and Evo Flush Rail feet, and on the 2023 Kia Telluride the site's guide found the same Thule bar system at $544.90 for raised rails and $704.85 for flush rails on etrailer.
Can I put a roof rack on a car with a bare roof?
Yes. A bare roof takes a clamp-style system whose feet sit on the roof edge and hook into the door jambs with vehicle-specific clips. Thule's foot for this is the Evo Clamp, described on its site as feet for cars without roof attachment points, and Yakima's is the BaseLine with BaseClips. It is the most expensive way to add bars: etrailer listed Yakima BaseLine systems at $604.75 to $773.75 for vehicles in the site's guides. The kit also sets where the bars sit, so check your cargo box's spread range against it before you buy the box.
What is a fit kit and do I need one?
A fit kit is the vehicle-specific part of a rack: the pads, clips or brackets that shape a universal foot to one roof. Bare roofs, flush rails and fixed points need one. Raised rails usually don't, which is why raised-rail racks cost less. Examples from the site's guides: Thule kit 6008 for the 2020–2025 Hyundai Palisade's flush rails, kit 6095 for the Kia Telluride's, and a Fixpoint kit for the Toyota Highlander. Yakima's catalogue lists vehicle-specific BaseClips, SightClips and Landing Pads for the same job. The kit number comes from the maker's fit guide for your year and trim, not from the foot.
What is the difference between dynamic and static roof load?
Dynamic load is what the roof can carry while the car is moving. Static load is what it can hold when parked, which is the number rooftop-tent buyers look for. The gap is large. Tesla rates its Model 3 rack at 150 lb dynamic and 495 lb static. The 2019–2024 Subaru Forester's standard rails are rated at 176 lb while driving and 700 lb parked. Everything you carry on the road, including the tent itself, has to fit inside the dynamic figure. The static figure only covers the extra weight of people once you have stopped.
Does the roof weight limit include the rack itself?
Yes. The dynamic limit covers everything above the roof: feet, crossbars, the box or carrier, and the cargo. Crossbar sets in the site's guides weigh from about 12 lb to 25 lb, and platforms far more. On the Ford Bronco, where owners cite a 110 lb dynamic limit from Ford's documentation, a 67 lb platform leaves roughly 43 lb for gear. A bar's own rating doesn't raise the limit either. Brand-name systems are usually rated at 165 lb and some budget bars print 300 lb or more, but the lowest of the roof limit and the rack rating is what applies.
What is crossbar spread and why does it matter for a cargo box?
Spread is the distance between the front and rear bar. Every cargo box, bike tray and tent lists a minimum and maximum spread its hardware can reach. On raised rails and most flush rails you slide the bars to suit. On fixed points and bare-roof kits the car sets it: about 28 in on the Tesla Model 3, about 35.5 in on the Model Y's factory rack, and about 24.5 in for a Rhino-Rack Vortex on the 2023 Jeep Grand Cherokee, according to etrailer. A box that needs 32 in will not mount on a 24.5 in spread, however good the bars are.
Why does my trim have a different roof from other versions of the same model?
Because makers use the roof to separate trims. Base trims often ship bare while higher trims get rails, and off-road trims get their own hardware. In the site's data the 2019–2025 Toyota RAV4 LE has a bare roof and the XLE and up have raised rails, with a different rail again on the Adventure and TRD Off-Road. The Kia Telluride's X-Line and X-Pro have raised rails while other trims are flush. Subaru's Wilderness models use a ladder-type rail. Crossbar listings name trims for this reason, so read the exclusions and look at your own roof before ordering.
Can I use factory crossbars with aftermarket accessories?
Usually, if the accessory's clamp fits the bar's shape and size. Check the accessory's bar compatibility list, because thick factory bars can need a different mounting kit. Factory bars also have limits of their own. Autoblog notes the Subaru Outback's swing-in bars are narrower than aftermarket bars, which makes two bikes or a box plus a kayak hard to fit. Subaru says its genuine Forester aero bars do not support rooftop tents. Tesla's bars have a T-slot, so T-bolt carriers slide in. The sockets or mounts usually fix the spread, so measure it before buying a box.
Can I put a roof rack on a Jeep Wrangler or Ford Bronco?
Yes, but not a standard rail kit. Both have removable tops, so the rack has to match the top. The site's data describes Wrangler racks as bolting to the hardtop or using a cage-style rack. On the 2021–2026 Bronco, crossbar kits and platforms attach to the hardtop's mounting points or rain gutters, and soft tops need a bridging rack. Door count matters, because a 4-door platform won't fit a 2-door hardtop. The Bronco's roof limit is also small, with owners citing 110 lb while driving, so a light crossbar kit or half rack often makes more sense than a heavy platform.
Identify the roof before the rack: the gap under the rail, or the lack of a rail, decides the foot, the fit kit, the price and how much freedom you have over spread.
Raised rails are the easy case. The foot clamps around the rail, there is usually no vehicle-specific kit, and you choose the spread. Flush rails, fixed points and bare roofs all need a kit made for the car, cost more, and often fix where the bars sit. Factory crossbars are fine for light loads. Tracks, gutters and removable tops each need their own hardware. Whatever the roof, the dynamic limit in the owner's manual is the ceiling, and the rack's own weight counts against it.
Once you know the roof type, go to the roof rack guide for your vehicle and generation. Each one lists which trims have which roof and which bars are sold for it. If the bars are for a cargo box, check the box's spread range against your roof before buying either. If the roof limit is too small for what you carry, a trailer hitch carrier keeps the weight off the roof, and on a pickup a bed rack does the same job.
How we wrote this
We did not install or test any rack. Roof types by vehicle come from the site's stored vehicle data and its fit-checked roof-rack and cargo-box guides, which read etrailer fit lists, maker pages and owner threads in September 2026. Foot names and part numbers were read on Thule's, Yakima's and Rhino-Rack's own pages on 3 October 2026. Where the site's data and a fit guide disagree, the table says so. Your owner's manual, not this page, has the final roof load figure for your car.
Sources- Roof racks and accessories: Evo Clamp, Raised Rail, Flush Rail, Fixpoint and gutter feet (Thule)
- Yakima 2024 catalogue: roof type definitions and StreamLine towers (Yakima Europe)
- Roof rack fitting kits: RLT600, 2500 ditch mount, RCP fixed mount base (Rhino-Rack)
- Vehicle roof types and how to identify which you have (Rack Warehouse)
- 2023 Ford Explorer roof rack systems by rail type (etrailer, via the site's Explorer guide)
- 2023 Kia Telluride roof rack systems by rail type (etrailer, via the site's Telluride guide)
- 2023 Jeep Grand Cherokee roof rack systems (etrailer, via the site's Grand Cherokee guide)
- 2022 Hyundai Palisade roof rack systems (etrailer, via the site's Palisade guide)
- 2021 Toyota RAV4 roof rack systems by roof type (etrailer, via the site's RAV4 guide)
- Tesla Model 3 Roof Rack: 150 lb dynamic, 495 lb static (Tesla Shop)
- Tesla Model Y Roof Rack: 165 lb (Tesla Shop)
- Dynamic roof load limit of 110 lbs (Bronco6G)
- Top 5th Gen 4Runner roof racks: 120 lb manual figure (Trail4Runner)
- Subaru debuts 2022 Outback Wilderness: ladder-type rack, 700 lb static (Subaru U.S. Media Center)