Best Roof Racks for 2017–2026 Tesla Model 3: 5 Fixed-Point Picks, Highland vs 2017–2023
Five fixed-point roof racks for the Model 3's glass roof, plus Tesla's $400 factory rack as the benchmark. We list load ratings against the 150 lb Tesla gives its own rack, which bars fit the 2024 Highland and which fit only the 2017–2023 car, and what bars and boxes cost you in range.

Fit-checked means: matched to the maker's fit guide and part number, then checked against owner reports; not installed by us (how we chose). Covers the 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025 and 2026 Tesla Model 3 (1st Gen incl. 2024 Highland refresh); some listings name fewer model years, so check the fit note on each pick.
Model 3 roof figures
| Roof | Glass roof with fixed points; Tesla-approved racks only per the manual |
|---|---|
| Roof load (lb) | not published / not confirmed (Tesla rack 150) |
| What the figure covers | Tesla Shop lists a 150 lb load rating and a 495 lb static load limit for the Tesla Model 3 Roof Rack; the owner's manual prints no roof load |
| Source | maker rack rating (Tesla Shop); site stores no roof figure |
- The Model 3 has a glass roof and no rails. Racks bolt into fixed mounting points under the roof trim, and those towers do not sit on the glass. etrailer also lists a Yakima BaseLine system that clips to the door frames, for the 2025 Model 3 (fit not confirmed on Yakima's lookup). Tesla's manual says to use 'only roof rack systems that have been approved by Tesla'. We could not confirm whether Tesla approves any aftermarket bars, so ask Tesla.
- Highland is a separate fit. Tesstudio and TESEVO sell different versions for 2017–2023.10 builds and the 2024 Highland. Those splits are the sellers' own, so go by the build date on the door-jamb label and the listing's fit notes.
- 150 lb is Tesla's rating for its own rack. The Tesla Shop gives the Model 3 Roof Rack a 150 lb load rating and a 495 lb static load limit, and the owner's manual prints no roof load. Bars listed higher don't change that.
- The spread is short: about 28 in. Long cargo boxes can overhang the windshield or hit the trunk lid, so check the box's spread range.
- Roof cargo costs range. fueleconomy.gov puts rooftop boxes at 10–25% worse efficiency at 65–75 mph. A hitch carrier costs less, but Tesla's manual says not to install an accessory carrier on a Model 3 without its towing package.
Model 3 roof versions
| Body | Build | Roof | Rack notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Original Model 3 | Builds to Oct 2023 (2023.10), per Tesstudio and TESEVO | Glass roof, fixed points, no rails | Pre-Highland listings (e.g. AUXPACBO 2017–2023) are sold for this body. |
| Highland refresh | Builds from Nov 2023 (2023.11), per Tesstudio; North American orders from January 10, 2024, per Wikipedia | Glass roof, fixed points, no rails | Buy a listing naming 2024+ or Highland, and check the door-jamb build date; Tesstudio and TESEVO sell separate parts. |
| Model 3 Standard | We could not confirm which builds | Check your car | TESEVO excludes it; ask the seller. |
| All versions, Tesla rack | 2017–2026 | Fixed points | Tesla says its rack is compatible with all Model 3 vehicles: 150 lb load rating, 495 lb static load limit (Tesla Shop). |
What to look for in Model 3 roof racks
Roof type: fixed points under the trim
The Model 3 roof is glass with no rails and no gutters. Most racks, including Tesla's, bolt into fixed mounting points hidden under the roof trim, and the towers rest on the body at those points rather than on the glass. Yakima's BaseLine takes a different route, with clips at the door frames. etrailer lists it for the 2025 Model 3 with a naked roof and Rack Warehouse lists it for 2018–2026 cars, but the fit is not confirmed on Yakima's lookup, which we could not read. A universal rail clamp or gutter tower does not fit. A listing should name the Model 3, not 'sedans with a glass roof', and the towers should be shaped for this car. Keep the trim covers you remove, because they seal the mounting points when the rack is off. Tesla's manual says the Model 3 'supports the use of Tesla-approved roof racks using a Tesla mounting accessory' and that you must use 'only roof rack systems that have been approved by Tesla'. We could not confirm whether Tesla approves any aftermarket bars, so ask Tesla.
Highland vs 2017–2023: match the build date
Sellers and reference pages date the Highland refresh in their own ways. Wikipedia says the refreshed car was made available for order in North America on January 10, 2024. Tesstudio dates the split by build, 2017–2023.10 versus 2023.11 onward, and sells a different rack for each. TESEVO does the same, listing Model 3 2017–2023.10 and Highland 2024+ separately. Tesla says its own rack fits every Model 3. For Amazon bars, a title that stops at 2023 is a pre-Highland rack. A title that runs to 2024, 2025 or 2026 without naming Highland needs a question to the seller about which fit kit ships. Your build month is on the door-jamb label, so go by that and the listing's fit notes.
Dynamic vs static load: Tesla's 150 and 495 lb
The Tesla Shop publishes two numbers for Tesla's own Model 3 rack. We read the load rating of 150 lb as the figure for driving, and it covers the bars, the carriers and the cargo. We read the static load limit of 495 lb as the parked figure, which is the one rooftop-tent buyers look for. Both are ratings for Tesla's rack: the owner's manual prints no roof load, so there is no separate Tesla figure for the roof. The aftermarket bars on this page list 176 lb or 220 lb, and those are the listings' ratings for the bars. Plan everything around 150 lb, and ask the bar maker for its own static rating before loading people onto the roof. Load heavy items low and centered between the bars rather than hanging off one end.
Crossbar spread and carrier fit
etrailer's experts cite about 28 in of crossbar spacing on the Model 3, which is short. Carriers list a minimum spread, and a long box on a short spread overhangs the windshield or blocks the trunk lid. etrailer says a Yakima SkyBox 21 fits at that spacing with a 149 lb box limit. On Tesla's aero factory bars, it says Yakima's 23H adapters fit better than the 39H. Check your bar's T-slot width against your carrier's hardware before you order. A carrier that fits Tesla's bar may need different hardware on an aftermarket profile. Ask the carrier maker if in doubt.
Range, noise and locks on a quiet EV
Anything on a low sedan's roof adds a large share of its drag. fueleconomy.gov puts rooftop boxes at 6–17% worse on the highway and 10–25% at 65–75 mph, and a hitch carrier at 1–5%. Wind noise is the other cost: the Model 3 cabin is quiet, so bar whistle stands out, and none of the makers publishes a decibel figure. Fixed-point bars also come off in minutes, so locking towers are worth the small premium, especially on a car parked outside. The cheapest fix for both range and noise is simply taking the bars off between trips.
| Feature | Look for | Avoid |
|---|---|---|
| Fitment | Listing names Model 3 and your body: 2017–2023 or 2024+ Highland; ask Tesla whether it approves the bars | "Fits most sedans" or a range that doesn't say which body |
| Mounting | Towers for the fixed points under the trim (or Yakima door-frame clips, where a listing names your year) | Rail clamps, gutter towers or anything that rests on the glass |
| Load rating | Stated rating; plan around the 150 lb Tesla gives its own rack | Bigger numbers used as a reason to overload the roof |
| Bar profile | Aero bar with a T-slot and rubber strip | Round or square bars (noise, drag) |
| Security | Lock cylinders in the towers | Exposed bolts |
| Carrier fit | Carrier spread range that includes about 28 in | Long boxes that need a wide spread |
Ways to carry gear on a Model 3
| Setup | Price | Load | Range impact | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tesla OEM rack | $400 (Tesla Shop) | 150 lb load rating, 495 lb static load limit | Tesla claims minimal | Factory fit, integrated locks |
| Aftermarket fixed-point bars | About $130–$220 | Listed 176 lb or 220 lb; Tesla's rack rating is 150 lb | No published figure | Lower price; ask Tesla whether it approves them |
| IKON Motorsports OE-style bars | $144.99 (IKON) | Not published; Tesla's rack rating is 150 lb | Low OE-style profile | Factory look on a 2017–2023 car |
| Yakima BaseLine (door-frame clips) | $694.80 (etrailer, listed for the 2025 Model 3) | 165 lb listed by etrailer; Tesla's rack rating is 150 lb | Aero JetStream bars | Owners already using Yakima gear; fit not confirmed on Yakima's lookup, and ask Tesla whether it approves it |
| Bars + cargo box | Bars + box | Box weight counts toward 150 lb | 10–25% at 65–75 mph (fueleconomy.gov) | Road trips, skis |
| Hitch carrier | Tesla Tow Package $1,300 (2024+ RWD/AWD); aftermarket hitches in the hitch guide | 121 lb with Tesla's package (manual); Tesla gives no figure for an aftermarket hitch | 1–5% on the highway (fueleconomy.gov, gas vehicles) | Bikes, but Tesla's manual says no carrier without its towing package |
#1: WheelX Lockable Cross Bars — Best overall (Amazon)

WheelX Lockable Cross Bars, 2017-2026 Model 3, 176 lb
Listed for this truckLists Highland; plan around the 150 lb Tesla gives its own rack.- Listing covers 2017–2026, including the Highland
- Lockable towers
- 176 lb bar rating per the listing, above the 150 lb Tesla gives its own rack
- Fixed-point mount, no drilling
- Well under half the price of Tesla's rack
- 176 lb is the listing's bar rating; plan around the 150 lb Tesla gives its own rack
- Confirm which fit kit ships for your build date
- No published weight or noise figure
WheelX earns the top Amazon spot because its listing does what most don't: it runs from 2017 to 2026, so it covers the Highland as well as the original car. The towers lock, which matters on bars that come off with the right tool in a few minutes, and the bars bolt into the fixed points under the roof trim with no drilling. The listed rating is 176 lb. Read that as the bars' strength, not permission to load more than the 150 lb Tesla gives its own rack. Tesla's manual says to use 'only roof rack systems that have been approved by Tesla'. We could not confirm whether Tesla approves these bars, so ask Tesla before you order.
Because one listing spans both bodies, message the seller with your build date or model year and ask which towers or fit pieces ship. Tesstudio and TESEVO both sell separate Highland parts, which tells you the two roofs are not identical. Expect about $150–$220, well under half of Tesla's $400 rack. You give up Tesla's published 495 lb static load limit and Tesla's own statement that its rack is compatible with all Model 3 vehicles, but you get locks and a listing that names your car whichever body you have. Check fit and highway noise inside the return window before adding a box.
Who it's for: Model 3 owners, Highland or earlier, who want lockable bars without paying Tesla's price.
| Spec | Value |
|---|---|
| Type | Fixed-point crossbars |
| Fits | 2017–2026 Model 3 incl. Highland (per listing) |
| Bar rating | 176 lb (per listing) |
| Tesla's rack rating | 150 lb (Tesla Shop, for Tesla's own rack) |
| Lock | Lockable towers |
| Install | Fixed points, no drilling |
| Price band | About $150–$220 |
#2: 220 lb Aero Cross Bars — Best aero profile

220 lb Aero Cross Bars, 2017-2024 Model 3
Confirm fit on listingConfirm Highland (2024+) with seller.- Aero bar profile for less drag and noise
- 220 lb bar rating listed
- Listed for 2017–2024
- Lower price than WheelX
- No drilling
- Highland (2024) fit needs confirming with the seller
- No lock mentioned in the title
- 220 lb is the listing's bar rating; plan around the 150 lb Tesla gives its own rack
This set is sold on its aero profile. The bars are shaped to cut drag and wind noise, the two costs of any roof rack on an EV. The listing gives a 220 lb bar rating and names the 2017–2024 Model 3. A higher bar rating adds margin against flex, but plan around the 150 lb Tesla gives its own rack, and that includes the bars and any box. On a car where range is the currency, a smaller, smoother bar is the trade this set offers.
The year range is the question. Wikipedia says North American orders for the Highland opened in January 2024, so a title ending at 2024 could mean the older body or both. Ask the seller directly whether it ships Highland towers and have your build date ready. Tesstudio splits its racks at 2023.11 builds, which is a good reference point. The title mentions no lock, so if your car parks outside, the WheelX set is the safer choice. At about $130–$190, this is the cheapest aero-profile option we found with a stated rating. Check fit, noise and any contact with the trim inside the return window.
Who it's for: Owners focused on range and wind noise who can confirm fit for their build date.
| Spec | Value |
|---|---|
| Type | Fixed-point aero crossbars |
| Fits | 2017–2024 Model 3 (per listing); confirm Highland |
| Bar rating | 220 lb (per listing) |
| Tesla's rack rating | 150 lb (Tesla Shop, for Tesla's own rack) |
| Lock | Not stated |
| Install | No drilling |
| Price band | About $130–$190 |
#3: AUXPACBO Lockable Roof Rack — Best for 2017–2023 cars

AUXPACBO Lockable Roof Rack, 2017-2023 Model 3
Listed for this truckPre-Highland only.- Listing is only for the 2017–2023 Model 3, so no body ambiguity
- Lockable towers
- Fixed-point mount, no drilling
- Aluminum bars
- Priced about the same as WheelX
- Does not fit the 2024+ Highland
- No published weight or noise figure
- Confirm load rating on the listing
For an original Model 3, a listing that stops at 2023 is an advantage, not a limitation. This AUXPACBO lockable rack is sold only for the 2017–2023 car, so there is no question about which towers you get. That matches the way Tesstudio and TESEVO split their racks at the 2023.10 build. The towers lock, the bars are aluminum, and the set bolts into the fixed points under the roof trim without drilling.
It doesn't fit a Highland, so if you bought a 2024 or later car, skip it. AUXPACBO doesn't publish a weight or noise figure, so read the listing for the stated load rating and plan around the 150 lb Tesla gives its own rack either way. Expect about $150–$220. If you're selling a pre-Highland Model 3 soon, keep the rack in mind: it won't move to a newer Model 3, so it may make more sense to sell it with the car. Before ordering, compare the tower photos on the listing with the mounting points under your roof trim, and check the return terms in case anything doesn't line up. Also confirm the bar's T-slot size if you already own T-bolt carriers.
Who it's for: Owners of a 2017–2023 Model 3 who want lockable bars made for exactly that body.
| Spec | Value |
|---|---|
| Type | Fixed-point crossbars |
| Fits | 2017–2023 Model 3 only (per listing) |
| Material | Aluminum |
| Lock | Lockable towers |
| Load rating | Confirm on listing; Tesla's rack rating is 150 lb |
| Install | Fixed points, no drilling |
| Price band | About $150–$220 |
#4: IKON MOTORSPORTS OE Style Roof Rack Cross Bars — Best OE-style look (2017–2023)

IKON MOTORSPORTS OE Style Roof Rack Cross Bars, 2017-2023 Tesla Model 3, Aluminum ABS
Confirm fit on listingTitle says 2017-2023; IKON site says to 2026 — confirm Highland with seller.- Sold by IKON Motorsports, an established aftermarket parts brand with its own store
- OE-style profile meant to look like a factory rack
- Aluminum bars with ABS covers
- Pair of bars with mounting hardware included
- IKON lists it at $144.99 with 30-day returns
- Amazon title says 2017–2023, while IKON's product page says 2017–2026; confirm Highland fit before ordering
- No load rating or lock published
- IKON says installation instructions are not included and recommends professional installation
IKON Motorsports sells body kits and bolt-on parts through its own store as well as Amazon, and this is its fixed-point crossbar for the Model 3. The Amazon title names the 2017–2023 Model 3 and describes an OE-style bar in black aluminum and ABS. IKON's own product page lists it at $144.99, describes the material as aluminum plus ABS, and says the box contains one pair of crossbars with mounting hardware. The appeal is looks: an OE-style bar sits lower and cleaner than the tall towers on some budget sets, which suits a car bought for its clean lines.
The fine print needs attention. IKON's product page says it fits 2017–2026, but the Amazon title stops at 2023, and the two bodies take different parts from makers that publish fitment. Treat it as a pre-Highland rack unless the seller confirms otherwise for your build date. IKON publishes no load rating and no lock, so plan around the 150 lb Tesla gives its own rack and store the bars inside if the car parks on the street. IKON also says installation instructions are not included and recommends professional installation, and that painting or modifying the part voids its warranty. Its 30-day return window is the time to check fit against your roof's mounting points and listen for wind noise at highway speed.
Who it's for: Owners of a 2017–2023 Model 3 who want a factory-style bar from a known aftermarket brand and don't need locks.
| Spec | Value |
|---|---|
| Type | OE-style fixed-point crossbars |
| Fits | 2017–2023 Model 3 per Amazon title (IKON page says 2017–2026; confirm) |
| Material | Aluminum + ABS (IKON) |
| Included | Pair of crossbars with mounting hardware |
| Load rating | Not published; Tesla's rack rating is 150 lb |
| Lock | Not published |
| Instructions | Not included (IKON) |
| Price seen | $144.99 (IKON Motorsports) |
#5: AUPACBO Cross Bars — Budget pick

AUPACBO Cross Bars, 2017-2025 Model 3
Confirm fit on listingConfirm Highland fit with seller.- Among the cheapest Model 3-specific bars
- Listed for 2017–2025
- Fixed-point mount, no drilling
- Model 3-specific towers, not a universal kit
- Good for occasional use
- Highland fit needs confirming with the seller
- No lock in the title
- Few published specs
If you need bars a few times a year for skis or a kayak, this AUPACBO set is the cheapest Model 3-specific option on this page. The listing names the 2017–2025 Model 3 and mounts to the fixed points under the roof trim, like every other rack here. It costs about $140–$200, roughly half of Tesla's rack. For occasional use, most owners care more about price than locks, and you can store the bars in the trunk between trips.
The trade-offs are the ones you'd expect at this price. The title doesn't mention locks or a load rating, and the 2017–2025 range overlaps the Highland without naming it. Ask the seller which body the towers are for before ordering, and check that the bars have a T-slot if you plan to use T-bolt carriers. Plan around the 150 lb Tesla gives its own rack. If you park outside or leave the bars on for weeks, spend the extra on the lockable WheelX or AUXPACBO sets. Whatever you choose, re-check the tower bolts after the first highway drive, since budget sets rarely include torque-limiting tools.
Who it's for: Occasional users who want Model 3-specific bars for the least money.
| Spec | Value |
|---|---|
| Type | Fixed-point crossbars |
| Fits | 2017–2025 Model 3 (per listing); confirm Highland |
| Material | Aluminum |
| Lock | Not stated |
| Load rating | Confirm on listing; Tesla's rack rating is 150 lb |
| Install | Fixed points, no drilling |
| Price band | About $140–$200 |
How to install a roof rack on the Model 3
- Wash the roof and the trim along the edges. Grit under a tower pad scratches paint, and on the Model 3 the pads sit close to the glass.
- Open the trim covers over the fixed mounting points (or, for Yakima BaseLine, find the clip positions the fit sheet gives for the door frames).
- Check which bar goes front and which rear. Many fixed-point kits use different lengths, and a swapped bar will not seat.
- Bolt the towers in loosely, center the bars side to side, then tighten to the torque in the instructions. Make sure no pad touches the glass.
- Seat the rubber strips fully in the T-slots and fit the end caps; gaps cause most of the whistling.
- Lock the towers, pull hard on each bar, and re-check tightness after the first highway drive and before each loaded trip.
What to avoid
Pre-Highland bars on a 2024+ car. Makers that publish fitment sell separate Highland parts. A listing that stops at 2023 won't fit a Highland, and one that runs past 2023 without naming it needs a seller answer.
Loading to the bar rating instead of Tesla's 150 lb. Bars listed at 176 or 220 lb don't raise the 150 lb load rating Tesla gives its own rack, and Tesla's manual prints no roof load of its own. Keep bars, carrier and cargo together under 150 lb.
Long cargo boxes on a 28 in spread. A box built for a wide spread can overhang the windshield or stop the trunk lid opening. Check the box's minimum spread.
Leaving bars on all year. Empty bars still cost range and add noise. LBNL found empty racks were the largest single factor in wasted fuel. Take them off between trips.
Bed, roof, hitch and interior, filtered to the 2017–2026 Tesla Model 3.
Open the Model 3 fit hub → See the Model 3 upgrade plan →Frequently asked questions
What is the best roof rack for a Tesla Model 3?
Tesla's own Model 3 Roof Rack sets the benchmark: $400 on the Tesla Shop, a 150 lb load rating, a 495 lb static limit, T-slot aluminum bars and die-cast towers with integrated locks, and Tesla says it fits all Model 3 vehicles. It isn't sold on Amazon under a Model 3 listing we could confirm, so the Amazon picks here are aftermarket. Tesla's owner's manual says you must use 'only roof rack systems that have been approved by Tesla'. We could not confirm whether Tesla approves any aftermarket bars, so ask Tesla before you buy a set. Of the aftermarket picks, the WheelX lockable set comes first because its listing covers 2017–2026, Highland included.
Does a 2017–2023 Model 3 roof rack fit the 2024 Highland?
Don't assume it does. Makers that publish fitment split the car in two. Tesstudio sells separate versions for the 2017–2023.10 Model 3 and the Highland from 2023.11 builds, and TESEVO lists Model 3 2017–2023.10 and Highland 2024+ separately. Those splits are the sellers' own. Wikipedia says the refreshed car was made available for order in North America on January 10, 2024. Tesla says its own rack fits all Model 3. For aftermarket bars, go by the build date on the door-jamb label and the listing's fit notes, and ask the seller which fit kit ships for your build date.
How much weight can a Model 3 roof carry?
Tesla's owner's manual prints no roof load on its Vehicle Loading page. The figures Tesla does publish are for its own Model 3 Roof Rack: the Tesla Shop gives it a 150 lb load rating and a 495 lb static load limit. We read the load rating as the figure for driving and the static limit as the figure for a parked car. Plan around 150 lb for the bars, carriers and cargo together. The aftermarket bars on this page list 176 lb or 220 lb, and etrailer lists Yakima's BaseLine system at 165 lb, but those are ratings for the bars, not a Tesla figure for the roof. Keep the total at or under 150 lb whatever the bar says.
Can I put a rooftop tent on a Model 3?
The Tesla Shop's 495 lb static load limit is for Tesla's own rack, and we read it as the parked figure, which is the situation a tent is in. Two limits remain. The tent and the bars together must stay within the 150 lb load rating while you drive, and the 495 lb figure does not transfer to aftermarket bars, which need a static rating of their own. The Tesla pages we read don't mention rooftop tents, so ask Tesla, and ask the rack maker for a written static figure, before you buy a tent.
How much range does a roof rack cost on a Model 3?
Tesla publishes no figure for its rack. The best public data is for gas cars: fueleconomy.gov says rooftop cargo boxes cut efficiency by 2–8% in the city, 6–17% on the highway and 10–25% at 65–75 mph, while rear-mounted carriers cost 1–5% on the highway. The Model 3 is a low, slippery sedan, so anything on its roof adds a larger share of total drag than on an SUV.
What crossbar spread does the Model 3 have?
About 28 in. etrailer's product experts cite a 28 in crossbar spacing on the Model 3 when fitting a Yakima SkyBox 21 cargo box to factory and aftermarket racks. That is short for a long box. Check the spread range your box lists, and choose a shorter box if it would otherwise overhang the windshield or hit the trunk lid when it opens.
Will a Thule or Yakima rack fit a Model 3?
etrailer lists a complete Yakima BaseLine system for the 2025 Model 3 with a naked roof: JetStream bars, BaseLine towers and the Y06173 BaseClip kit, at $694.80, supporting up to 165 lb. Rack Warehouse lists Yakima's BaseLine rack for 2018–2026 Model 3s. Fit not confirmed on Yakima's lookup: we could not read Yakima's own fit data for this car, so check it for your year. The system clips to the door frames rather than using the fixed points. Tesla's manual says roof racks must use a Tesla mounting accessory and be approved by Tesla, and we could not confirm that a door-frame system meets that, so ask Tesla. We found no Amazon listing that names the Model 3 for it, so it isn't a pick here. We did not check Thule's fit guide. Yakima carriers also fit Tesla's bars, but etrailer says the aero factory bars need 23H adapters.
Do I need to drill or will it damage the glass?
No drilling. Fixed-point racks bolt into metal receivers under the roof trim, and the towers rest on the body at those points, not on the glass. Door-frame systems such as Yakima's BaseLine use clips at the door frames and pads under the towers. We could not confirm where those pads rest on the Model 3's roof, so check Yakima's fit sheet. Either way, clean the roof and the pads before you install, because grit under a pad is what scratches paint.
Can I use a hitch bike rack instead?
Only after reading Tesla's manual. A rear carrier costs less efficiency: fueleconomy.gov, writing about gas vehicles, puts rear-mounted carriers at 1–5% worse on the highway, against 6–17% for a rooftop box. But Tesla's owner's manual says: 'Do not attempt to install an accessory carrier on Model 3 that is not equipped with the towing package. Doing so can cause significant damage.' The Tesla Shop lists that package for Rear-Wheel Drive and All-Wheel Drive cars produced in 2024 or later, not the Performance. Aftermarket makers sell receivers for other Model 3s, most of them 2 in. We could not confirm how Tesla service treats a car with an aftermarket hitch, so ask Tesla before you buy one. A roof rack remains the route for skis, kayaks or a narrow cargo box.
Is the Model 3 roof rack noisy?
It can be. The Model 3 cabin is quiet, so a bar that whistles is easy to hear. Tesla says its rack was designed for minimal noise, and the aftermarket listings here sell aero profiles for the same reason, but none of them publishes a decibel figure. Keep the rubber strips fully seated in the T-slot, fit the end caps, and take the bars off when you don't need them.
Tesla's $400 rack is the benchmark, and it is the rack Tesla's manual provides for. If you go aftermarket after asking Tesla, the WheelX listing covers every Model 3 and the AUXPACBO is for 2017–2023 cars. Keep everything under 150 lb.
On the Model 3, the rack decision is mostly about which body you have. Tesla says its rack is compatible with all of them, and the Tesla Shop publishes its numbers: a 150 lb load rating and a 495 lb static load limit. Tesla's manual says you must use 'only roof rack systems that have been approved by Tesla'. We could not confirm whether Tesla approves any aftermarket bars, so ask Tesla before you buy a set. On Amazon, WheelX is the only set we found whose listing runs from 2017 to 2026 with locks. The AUXPACBO is the clean choice for a 2017–2023 car, IKON's OE-style bars suit owners who want a factory look without locks, the aero set is the range-focused option if you can confirm Highland fit, and AUPACBO is the budget pick.
If you mostly carry bikes, a trailer hitch with a hitch-mounted carrier costs less efficiency than a roof rack on fueleconomy.gov's figures for gas vehicles. Tesla's manual says: 'Do not attempt to install an accessory carrier on Model 3 that is not equipped with the towing package.' The Tesla Shop lists that package only for Rear-Wheel Drive and All-Wheel Drive cars produced in 2024 or later, so read the hitch guide and ask Tesla first. All-weather floor mats protect the cabin on ski trips. Owners of the 2020–2026 Model Y face the same fixed-point roof, with a 165 lb rating and a Juniper split. The vehicle hub lists every fit-checked accessory for the Model 3.
How we chose
We did not install these racks ourselves. We ranked them on published specs (load rating, locks, materials), on the fitment each maker or listing states for the 2017–2023 Model 3 and the 2024+ Highland, and on fit answers from etrailer's product experts. We reopened Tesla's Model 3 owner's manual and the Tesla Shop on October 4, 2026 for the wording on roof racks, roof load and accessory carriers, and we report that wording without having confirmed how Tesla applies it. Prices were checked at the Tesla Shop, maker stores and etrailer in September 2026. Amazon prices move daily, so the button shows the live price.
Sources- Tesla Model 3 Roof Rack (Tesla Shop)
- Model 3 Owner's Manual: Vehicle Loading, roof racks (Tesla)
- 2017–2023 Model 3 Owner's Manual: Vehicle Loading (Tesla)
- Model 3 Owner's Manual: Towing and Accessories (Tesla)
- Model 3 Tow Package (Tesla Shop)
- Tesla Model 3 (Highland refresh dates)
- TESEVO lockable aluminum roof rack, Model 3/Y (TESEVO)
- Tesstudio roof rack variants, Model 3 and Highland (Tesstudio)
- Yakima BaseLine for 2025 Model 3, Y73EB (etrailer)
- Yakima BaseClip fit kit Y06173 (etrailer)
- Yakima BaseLine roof rack for Tesla Model 3, 2018–2026 (Rack Warehouse)
- Yakima carrier fit and Model 3 crossbar spacing (etrailer expert answers)
- Cargo box and rear carrier fuel economy impact (fueleconomy.gov)
- IKON Motorsports OE-style Model 3 roof rack cross bars (IKON)
- Fuel consumption impacts of auto roof racks (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)
Related guides
All roof racks & crossbars guides by vehicle → · Everything that fits the 2017–2026 Tesla Model 3 →