2020–2025 Hyundai Palisade Upgrades, Ranked: 4 Mods in Order, With Seat-Count and Flush-Rail Traps

Four upgrades for the first-generation Palisade, in the order most owners should buy them. Fit on this three-row SUV turns on a short list of facts: seven seats or eight, side rails that sit flush to the roof, a 5,000 lb tow rating with no receiver in Hyundai's spec sheets, wiring that splits at the 2023 refresh, and listings that stretch into the redesigned 2026 Palisade.

2020–2025 Hyundai Palisade upgrades
Photo: Kevauto · CC BY-SA 4.0 · via Wikimedia Commons
We earn a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases, at no extra cost to you. How we make money.
Key takeaways
  1. Count the second-row seats. Captain's chairs make a 7-seat Palisade and a bench makes an 8-seat one, and the second-row floor liner is shaped for one or the other.
  2. The receiver is the missing piece. Hyundai's 2023 spec sheet lists trailer pre-wiring and a heavy-duty transmission cooler as standard, and no tow hitch.
  3. 5,000 lb braked, 1,650 lb unbraked. Hyundai's 2020, 2023 and 2024 sheets print both figures, and no hitch raises either.
  4. Flush rails, and 220 lb on them at most. Hyundai's sheets list a 220 lb roof rails load capacity; Thule rates its Palisade system at 165 lb.
  5. Read the years on every listing. Wiring and hidden-hitch kits split at 2023, and the 2026 redesign is a new generation.

Palisade upgrades in priority order

Each step links to a full fit-checked guide for the 2020–2025 Hyundai Palisade.

1

Floor liners first: count the second-row seats, then read the years

Floor liners lead on the Palisade because they cost the least and every Palisade can use them. Two facts decide fit. The first is the second row: a bench for eight or captain's chairs for seven, each with its own second-row liner. In the floor liner guide, TOUGHPRO's rubber set is for buckets only, RILLEC lists 7- and 8-seat, Megiteller lists bench and bucket, and WeatherTech splits its parts by layout. The second is the generation: Husky sells 95711 for 2020–2024 and a separate 96381 for the 2026 model. Prices run about $100–$140 for Megiteller's three-row rubber, about $110–$150 for TOUGHPRO's, about $130–$170 for Husky's 95711 front and second row, about $150–$200 for Smartliner's three rows or RILLEC's three rows plus cargo liners, and about $280–$360 for WeatherTech's full set. The trade-off is walls against price: the rubber sets have lower edges than a molded liner, and Husky's set stops at the second row.

Skip it if: You live somewhere dry, the carpet mats are still clean and the third row rarely carries anyone.

Our best overall: WeatherTech FloorLiners Full Set (461578-1-2-3) ($280–$360)

Compare all 7 floor mats & liners picks →
2

Trailer hitch second: Hyundai lists the wiring and the cooler, not the receiver

A trailer hitch ranks second because it is the one part of the tow setup that the Hyundai documents we read leave out, and its fit is the simplest on this page. Hyundai's 2023 specification sheet lists trailer pre-wiring and a heavy-duty transmission oil cooler as standard on every trim, and no tow hitch. One part covers 2020–2025. CURT's 13427 is a Class 3 hitch rated at 5,000 lb with 750 lb of tongue weight, about $200–$280. Draw-Tite's 76420, about $220–$300, is rated at 5,000 lb and 500 lb, or 6,000 lb and 750 lb with weight distribution. KUAFU's copy runs about $120–$180 with seller-supplied ratings. A 2 in receiver also takes a bike rack or a cargo carrier, which keeps weight off the roof. The trade-offs: no hitch raises Hyundai's 5,000 lb braked and 1,650 lb unbraked limits, and CURT says the 13427 isn't compatible with vertical-hanging bike racks.

Skip it if: A 2 in receiver is already bolted under the rear bumper, or you never tow and carry nothing behind the liftgate.

Our best overall: CURT 13427 Class 3 Trailer Hitch 2 in ($200–$280)

Compare all 5 trailer hitches picks →
3

Roof rack third: flush rails take flush-rail feet, and the bars are the base for a box

A roof rack ranks third because fewer owners need one than need a receiver, and because it is the base for the cargo box in slot four. Our vehicle data lists flush side rails, and the listings in the roof rack guide name the SE, SEL, XRT, Limited and Calligraphy with the same rail. A flush rail has no gap underneath, so the foot has to grip it from the side; raised-rail towers won't hold. Thule's fit is the Evo Flush Rail foot 710601 with kit 6008 and 50 in WingBar Evo bars, rated at 165 lb, about $605–$705. Amazon sets clamp to the same rails for less: about $90–$140 for OMAC's 165 lb lockable bars, about $90–$130 for Snailfly's, about $110–$170 for ERKUL's 220 lb set with metal mounts and about $100–$140 for the 300 lb Tuyoung and EYOUHZ sets. The trade-off is proof. The printed ratings on the Amazon sets are the sellers' own, and none changes the 220 lb roof rails load capacity in Hyundai's sheets.

Skip it if: Hyundai's accessory crossbars are already on the rails, or everything you carry fits behind the third row or on a hitch carrier.

Our best overall: Thule Roof Rack Crossbars for Hyundai Palisade with Flush Rails ($605–$705)

Compare all 6 roof racks & crossbars picks →
4

Cargo box last: it clamps to the bars, and the bars set the limit

A cargo box comes last because it costs the most, needs the crossbars from slot three and is used on the fewest days. It clamps to the bars, not to the Palisade, so the vehicle-specific part is the numbers. An etrailer expert gives the Palisade about 32 in of spread on its factory crossbars and about 71 in of rear hatch clearance, room enough for long boxes mounted forward. Weight is the tighter limit. The hard boxes in the cargo box guide weigh 30.2 to 57.2 lb, so Thule's 165 lb system has roughly 108 to 135 lb left for gear. Prices run about $140 for Rightline Gear's Sport 3 soft carrier, about $599 for Yakima's SkyBox 16 Carbonite, about $649 for the DeepSpace 10, about $799 for the SkyBox NX Skinny, about $865 for the INNO Wedge 660 and about $1,250 for the Thule Motion 3 XXL without the duffel bundle. The trade-offs are height at the garage door and width: a 36 in box fills most of Thule's 50 in bars.

Skip it if: The luggage fits with the third row folded, or the extra load is heavy more than bulky and belongs on a hitch carrier.

Our best overall: Yakima SkyBox 16 Carbonite Rooftop Cargo Box ($599)

Compare all 7 cargo boxes picks →

What a Palisade build costs, by tier

Approximate price bands from the picks in the 2020–2025 Palisade guides (September 2026; Amazon prices move daily). The cargo box sits on the same column's crossbars
UpgradeBudgetMidPremium
Floor linersAbout $100–$140 (Megiteller rubber, three rows, bench or bucket)About $150–$200 (Smartliner three-row TPE, or RILLEC three rows plus cargo)About $280–$360 (WeatherTech full set, three rows)
Trailer hitchAbout $120–$180 (KUAFU Class 3; confirm ratings on the listing)About $200–$280 (CURT 13427, 5,000 lb / 750 lb)About $220–$300 (Draw-Tite 76420; 5,000 lb / 500 lb, or 6,000 lb / 750 lb with weight distribution)
Roof rackAbout $90–$140 (OMAC lockable flush-rail bars, 165 lb printed)About $110–$170 (ERKUL bars with metal mounts, 220 lb printed)About $605–$705 (Thule Evo Flush Rail system with kit 6008, 165 lb)
Cargo boxAbout $140 (Rightline Gear Sport 3 soft carrier, on the OMAC bars)About $599 (Yakima SkyBox 16 Carbonite, on the ERKUL bars)About $1,250 (Thule Motion 3 XXL, box alone, on the Thule bars)
TotalAbout $450–$600About $1,059–$1,249About $2,355–$2,615; wiring extra in every column

Seven seats or eight: the second row decides the liner set

The first-generation Palisade's second row comes two ways. Wikipedia describes seating for up to eight with a second-row bench, or seven with the optional captain's chairs. Each layout takes a different second-row liner, and the floor liner guide notes that the third-row piece sometimes changes too.

Don't go by trim. Hyundai's specification sheets print weights for 7-passenger and 8-passenger models but, as we read them, don't say which trims get which layout. We could not confirm seating by trim for any model year, so open the rear door and count.

Then decide how many zones to cover. If the third row is mostly folded flat, a cargo liner earns its place. Husky's 22711, about $100–$150, is listed for 2020–2025 and runs to the back of the second row over the folded third row. Rows are separate pieces, so brands can be mixed, as long as every piece names the 2020–2025 Palisade and your layout.

2020–2025 Palisade liner sets in the floor liner guide, by second-row layout and coverage
SetSecond row it listsRows coveredYears listedCheck before ordering
WeatherTech FloorLiners full setSplit by layout in WeatherTech's fit programThree rowsFirst-generation PalisadeConfirm the layout in WeatherTech's fit checker
Husky WeatherBeater 95711Not statedFront and second row2020–2024Confirm a 2025; Husky's 15261 front and 12731 second-row pieces list 2020–2025
Smartliner three-row setNot statedThree rows2020–2025Confirm the layout with the seller
RILLEC three rows plus cargo7- and 8-seatThree rows and cargo2020–2025Which second-row piece ships
TOUGHPRO rubberCaptain's chairs (buckets) onlyThree rows2020–2025Not for an 8-seat Palisade
Megiteller rubberBench and bucketThree rows2020–2025Which second-row piece ships

Towing: what Hyundai lists, what you add and the numbers a hitch can't change

The receiver. Our vehicle data records a Class III hitch with a 2 in receiver for this generation, the size of the CURT and Draw-Tite hitches in the hitch guide. Hyundai's 2020, 2023 and 2024 specification sheets list no tow hitch, and we could not confirm that any Palisade left the factory with one. Look under the rear bumper before ordering.

What Hyundai does list. The 2023 sheet shows trailer pre-wiring and a heavy-duty transmission oil cooler as standard on all trims. We did not find that line for other years, so check the window sticker.

The rating. All three sheets list 5,000 lb with trailer brakes and 1,650 lb without. The lower of hitch and vehicle applies. A small utility trailer with a mower or a load of firewood can pass 1,650 lb, and past that point Hyundai expects the trailer to have its own brakes.

Tongue weight. CURT rates the 13427 at 750 lb. Draw-Tite rates the 76420 at 500 lb, or 750 lb with weight distribution. Those are hitch ratings. Hyundai's 2023 sheet prints no tongue load figure and points to the owner's manual, so we could not confirm the Palisade's own limit.

Wiring. This is the year-specific part. CURT's 56420 4-way harness lists 2020–2022. A 2023–2025 Palisade needs a harness that names those years; the Reese bundle in the hitch guide includes one, though its title gives no part number or rating. For a braked trailer, add a 7-way connector and a brake controller. CURT lists its 51529 quick-plug harness for 2021–2025.

Flush rails, 220 lb and 165 lb: the math under a cargo box

The rails. Rack makers treat the Palisade's side rails as flush: the rail is attached to the roof along its whole length, with no gap underneath. Thule's fit guide pairs the 2020–2025 Palisade with the Evo Flush Rail foot and kit 6008, and etrailer's Palisade list has no raised-rail towers. etrailer also shows Thule's WingBar Edge as not fitting the 2022 Palisade.

The roof figure. Hyundai's 2020, 2023 and 2024 specification sheets list a roof rails load capacity of 220 lb. We did not read the sheets for 2021, 2022 or 2025, and they don't say whether the figure is for driving only, so your owner's manual is the authority.

The bar rating. Thule rates its Palisade system at 165 lb. Amazon sets print 165 lb (OMAC), 220 lb (ERKUL) and 300 lb (Tuyoung, EYOUHZ), which are the sellers' figures. The lowest number applies, and the roof rack guide counts bars, carrier and cargo toward the total.

On the 165 lb Thule system, the box's weight comes off first:

  • Yakima DeepSpace 10: 30.2 lb, leaving about 135 lb. Yakima caps the box at 100 lb of cargo, so 100 lb applies.
  • Rhino-Rack MasterFit 440: 38.6 lb, leaving about 126 lb.
  • INNO Wedge 660: 42 lb, leaving 123 lb. Its own limit is 110 lb.
  • Yakima SkyBox NX Skinny: 43 lb, leaving 122 lb.
  • Yakima SkyBox 16 Carbonite: 47 lb, leaving 118 lb.
  • Thule Motion 3 XXL: 57.2 lb, leaving about 108 lb.

Spread and width. The etrailer figure of about 32 in is for factory crossbars, so measure your own. It is the exact minimum for the DeepSpace 10 (32–46 in), and Yakima publishes no spread for the NX Skinny. On Thule's 50 in bars, a 36 in SkyBox 16 leaves about 14 in, and the 26.5 in NX Skinny leaves about 23.5 in for a bike mount.

The 2023 refresh, the 2026 Palisade and Telluride listings: read the years and the name

Our vehicle data and all four guides treat 2020–2025 as one generation. Four kinds of listing blur that.

The 2023 refresh. Wikipedia says the updated Palisade debuted at the New York International Auto Show in April 2022 for the 2023 model year, with a revised front end and an enhanced infotainment system. Our vehicle data adds the XRT from 2023, and Wikipedia dates the Calligraphy to the 2021 model year. The guides found one group of parts that splits at 2023: wiring and hidden-hitch kits.

The redesign. Wikipedia says the second generation was unveiled in December 2024 and shown for North America in April 2025. Nothing in the four guides is listed for it except the cargo boxes.

Telluride listings. The Kia Telluride is a related but different vehicle. Draw-Tite's 76420, KUAFU's hitch and Stealth's 2020–2022 kit are listed for both. CURT sells 13427 for the Palisade at 39 lb and 13420 for the Kia at 33 lb, and most liner makers sell separate sets. Buy the listing that names the Palisade.

A 2019 in the title. Several crossbar titles read 2019–2025. The first US model year was 2020, so the roof rack guide reads those as full first-generation coverage.

What changes by model year, as the four Palisade guides found it
Part2020–2022 vs 2023–20252026 model
Floor linersNo split found; most sets are listed 2020–2025. Husky's 95711 title stops at 2024Different floor; Husky sells 96381 for it
Trailer hitchSame part: CURT 13427 and Draw-Tite 76420 cover 2020–2025None in the hitch guide is listed for it
Wiring and hidden-hitch kitsSplit: CURT 56420 is 2020–2022; Stealth sells SHT25031 for 2020–2022 and SHT25031A for 2023–2025; the Reese bundle is 2023–2025Not listed
CrossbarsNo split found; Thule's Amazon title stops at 2023 while The Rack Shop lists kit 6008 for 2020–2025New body and roof; some sellers print separate 2026 listings
Cargo boxUniversal; no splitCarries over once 2026 bars are fitted

Roof or hitch: where the weight goes, and the order to fit things

The Palisade has no bed, so cargo that won't fit inside goes on the roof or behind the bumper.

  • The roof takes bulky, light loads. A hard box on 165 lb bars has roughly 108 to 135 lb left for gear.
  • The hitch takes heavy loads. The cargo box guide points coolers and water jugs to a hitch cargo carrier. The hitch's tongue rating and the figure in the Palisade's owner's manual both apply, and the lower one wins.
  • A hidden receiver is a rack mount first. The Stealth Hitches listing in the hitch guide is a rack package for bikes and carriers. Towing needs Stealth's conversion kit, about $299 for 2020–2022 or about $399 for 2023–2025, and the pages the guide read gave no tow rating.

Fit the four in this order.

1. Floor liners. No tools. Lift out the factory mats in every row, seat the driver liner on Hyundai's retention posts and press both pedals to the floor. 2. Trailer hitch. The CURT and Draw-Tite bolt to existing frame points with no drilling. Draw-Tite quotes 30 minutes and CURT calls the job novice-level. Then plug in a harness that names your model year. 3. Crossbars. Wash the rails, mark the spread the box needs and tighten the clamps side to side in steps. Check them again after the first week. 4. Cargo box. With a helper, center it, slide it forward clear of the sunroof opening and open the power liftgate slowly before tightening to spec. Keep the sunroof closed on the road.

What to avoid

A liner set ordered before counting the second-row seats. Captain's chairs and a bench take different second-row pieces. TOUGHPRO's set is for buckets only, and RILLEC and Megiteller list both layouts, so ask which piece ships.

Raised-rail towers, or a roof loaded to the bar's printed rating. The Palisade's rails have no gap to wrap a tower around. A 300 lb bar doesn't change Thule's 165 lb system rating or the 220 lb roof rails figure in Hyundai's spec sheets.

Towing to the hitch rating, or with the wrong year's harness. A 6,000 lb weight-distribution rating doesn't lift Hyundai's 5,000 lb limit, and past 1,650 lb the trailer needs its own brakes. CURT's 56420 harness lists 2020–2022 only.

Listings that reach into 2026 or name only the Telluride. The 2026 Palisade is a new generation with its own liners and crossbars, and CURT sells a different hitch for the Kia. Buy listings that name the 2020–2025 Palisade.

Learn before you buy

Frequently asked questions

What should I upgrade first on a 2020–2025 Hyundai Palisade?

Floor liners, then a trailer hitch. Liners cost the least, from about $100–$140 for a three-row rubber set, and need one fact from you: seven seats or eight. A hitch is second because Hyundai's spec sheets list no receiver and one part covers 2020–2025, at about $120–$300. Crossbars for the flush side rails come third, at about $90–$170 for an Amazon set. A cargo box is last, since it mounts to those bars and costs the most.

Does the 2020–2025 Palisade come with a trailer hitch from the factory?

Not as listed equipment in the Hyundai documents we read. Hyundai's 2020, 2023 and 2024 Palisade specification sheets list no tow hitch. The 2023 sheet does list trailer pre-wiring and a heavy-duty transmission oil cooler as standard on every trim. We could not confirm that equipment for other model years, so check the window sticker. Look under the rear bumper before you order a hitch.

How much can a 2020–2025 Palisade tow, and does an aftermarket hitch raise it?

A hitch never raises it. Hyundai's 2020, 2023 and 2024 specification sheets list a maximum trailer weight of 5,000 lb with trailer brakes and 1,650 lb without, and our vehicle data records 5,000 lb. CURT's 13427 is rated at 5,000 lb, so it matches the vehicle. Draw-Tite's 76420 reaches 6,000 lb with weight distribution, but the Palisade's 5,000 lb still applies. We did not read the sheets for 2021, 2022 or 2025, so use your owner's manual for those years.

How much weight can a Palisade roof carry with crossbars and a cargo box?

Use the lowest of three numbers. Hyundai's 2020, 2023 and 2024 specification sheets list a roof rails load capacity of 220 lb. Thule rates its Evo Flush Rail system for the Palisade at 165 lb, and Amazon crossbar sets print 165 to 300 lb. Some boxes have their own cargo limit, such as 100 lb for Yakima's DeepSpace 10. Bars, box and cargo all count. On the Thule system, a 47 lb Yakima SkyBox 16 Carbonite leaves 118 lb for gear.

Which floor liners fit a 7-seat Palisade, and which fit an 8-seat?

Seven-seat Palisades have two captain's chairs in the second row, and eight-seat Palisades have a bench. In the floor liner guide, TOUGHPRO's three-row rubber set is for second-row buckets only. RILLEC lists 7- and 8-seat and Megiteller lists bench and bucket, so ask which second-row piece ships. WeatherTech splits its parts by layout in its fit program. The Smartliner and Husky 95711 listings name no layout in the guide, so confirm before ordering.

Did the 2023 refresh change which Palisade accessories fit?

For wiring and hidden-hitch kits, yes. For the rest, the guides found no split. Wikipedia says the updated Palisade debuted in April 2022 for the 2023 model year with a revised front end. CURT's 56420 4-way harness lists 2020–2022 only, and Stealth Hitches sells separate towing conversion kits for 2020–2022 and 2023–2025. The CURT 13427 and Draw-Tite 76420 hitches cover 2020–2025 with one part. Husky's 95711 liner title stops at 2024 and Thule's Amazon crossbar listing at 2023, so confirm later years.

Do 2020–2025 Palisade parts fit the redesigned 2026 Palisade?

Assume not, with one exception. The 2026 model is a new generation; Wikipedia says it was unveiled in December 2024. Husky sells a separate liner set for it, 96381, against 95711 for 2020–2024. The roof rack guide notes that some sellers now print separate 2026 crossbar listings, and nothing in the hitch guide is listed for 2026. The exception is a cargo box, which clamps to crossbars, not to the vehicle.

Do Kia Telluride liners, hitches or crossbars fit the Palisade?

Only where a maker lists both. The Kia is a related but different vehicle. In the hitch guide, Draw-Tite's 76420 and KUAFU's budget hitch name both, while CURT sells separate parts: 13427 for the Palisade and 13420 for the Kia. The floor liner guide says most makers sell separate liner sets because the cabins differ. Our vehicle data records raised rails on the Kia's X-Line and X-Pro from 2023, while every Palisade trim in the listings we found has flush rails.

Do the XRT and Calligraphy trims need different parts?

Not in the listings the guides found. The floor liner guide says trims change seats and finishes, not the floor. Snailfly's and Tuyoung's crossbar listings name the SE, SEL, XRT, Limited and Calligraphy with the same flush side rails. EYOUHZ's title leaves out the Calligraphy, so ask that seller. CURT lists the 13427 hitch for every 2020–2025 trim. Hyundai's 2024 sheet adds a Calligraphy Night Edition, which no listing in the guides names, so we could not confirm its fit.

How much does it cost to add all four upgrades to a Palisade?

From the prices on the four guides' picks, a budget build runs about $450–$600: Megiteller rubber liners, KUAFU's hitch, OMAC crossbars and Rightline Gear's soft carrier. A mid build runs about $1,059–$1,249 with Smartliner liners, CURT's 13427, ERKUL bars and Yakima's SkyBox 16 Carbonite. A premium build with WeatherTech's full set, Draw-Tite's 76420, Thule's Evo Flush Rail system and the Thule Motion 3 XXL runs about $2,355–$2,615. A wiring harness is extra in every column.

BOTTOM LINE

On the 2020–2025 Palisade, buy floor liners by seat count first, bolt on a 2 in trailer hitch with a harness for your model year second, add flush-rail crossbars third, and choose a cargo box last around the bar rating and Hyundai's 220 lb roof rails figure.

The first-generation Palisade is easy to accessorize once four facts are written down: seven seats or eight, model year, whether a receiver is already under the bumper, and which crossbars are on the rails. Floor liners need the first two and cost the least, so they go first. The trailer hitch is second because one part fits 2020–2025, Hyundai's 2023 sheet shows the pre-wiring and cooling in place, and a receiver carries what the roof can't.

The roof rack is third and the cargo box fourth, because the box mounts to the bars, and the bar rating less the box decides what goes inside. Plan around 165 lb on Thule's system and never more than the 220 lb Hyundai prints for the rails. Owners of a 2026 Palisade should treat this page as a list of questions, not part numbers.

Everything that fits your Palisade

Fit facts plus every guide for the 2020–2025 Hyundai Palisade.

Open the Palisade fit hub →

How we wrote this

We did not install any of these parts ourselves. The order comes from the four fit-checked 2020–2025 Palisade guides on this site, weighing how many Palisades each upgrade suits, what it costs, what it depends on and how much doubt sits in the fit. Price bands are the prices on those guides' picks, checked in September 2026, and are approximate. Vehicle facts come from our vehicle data, the guides' sources, Hyundai's 2020, 2023 and 2024 Palisade specification sheets, CURT, etrailer and Wikipedia. We read Hyundai's sheets for three model years only. Where we couldn't confirm a factory detail, the text says so.

Sources
JM
Jake Morrison · Fitment editor

Jake Morrison edits Rig Configurator's buying guides and keeps its fitment database current. Every product is matched to a vehicle generation, bed length or roof type using the maker's fit guide and part-number listing, then checked against owner reports, before it appears on a page. His own daily driver is a 2019 Toyota Premio.

10 years in Amazon product researchMaintains the Rig Configurator fitment databaseSources cited on every guide